LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Seven Treasures

Paul Harmon

$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
01 February 2024

ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- In Sydney, Mark finds his life adrift - divorced and unemployed - and in looking for a way out, buys a fixer-upper in southern France. It doesn't take long before questions and secrets arise around Mark's newly adopted town of Villemont.

Paul Harmon's thoughtful novel moves between timelines of present-day and of 80 years ago, drawing on themes around provincial life in southern France, Jewish persecution and art theft during WWII, the plight of refugees - and a dash of internal life upheaval, starting over and finding love again. Craig

Love, War, Art and Mystery in the South of France
 
A present-day art mystery and WW2 thriller of betrayal, terror and redemption.
 
For readers of Kate Morton, Kristin Harmel, Denvin Murphy and Jillian Cantor

 
French village Villemont has a secret. Divorced, unemployed and drunk, Sydneysider Mark buys a house sight unseen in its ancient centre, hoping to find meaning and even love again. Once in France, he takes bric-a-brac from the attic to the village market where he sells it all cheaply. Unbeknownst to him, amongst it are seven filth-encrusted priceless treasures once destined for Hermann Goering.
 
Newfound love, Monique helps Mark restore one small unsold painting. When they begin to suspect it is a 16th-century Dutch master, they go in search of its provenance and are horrified by what they find.
 
Interspersed, Seven Treasures tells the 1941 story of Josef, an anti-fascist art student drafted against his will into Goering's art-looting unit in Paris. Forced to participate in violent raids, he eventually goes rogue when he helps a young Jewish woman escape with her family's most cherished painting. This sets in play a series of events that, eighty years later, will release Mark's adopted French village from its guilt-ridden past and deliver it to redemption.
 

"An emotionally compelling story of courage, cowardice, and the long tail of history" Indie Reader
 
"Thrilling and empathetic, inspiring and heart-breaking" Lauren Finger. Senior Editor Allen & Unwin
 

By:  
Country of Publication:   Australia
ISBN:   9780645957310
ISBN 10:   0645957313
Pages:   303
Publication Date:  
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Reviews for Seven Treasures

ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- In Sydney, Mark finds his life adrift - divorced and unemployed - and in looking for a way out, buys a fixer-upper in southern France. It doesn't take long before questions and secrets arise around Mark's newly adopted town of Villemont.

Paul Harmon's thoughtful novel moves between timelines of present-day and of 80 years ago, drawing on themes around provincial life in southern France, Jewish persecution and art theft during WWII, the plight of refugees - and a dash of internal life upheaval, starting over and finding love again. Craig


See Also