APRIL'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

See You in the Cosmos

Jack Cheng

$16.99

Paperback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

Puffin
27 February 2017
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- Alex is 11 in years, but grown-up in experience. His father left long ago, his mother has never gotten over it, his brother has a job elsewhere, and while he cares about Alex and his mother, is too far away to do much more than send money. Alex talks to his hero, Carl Sagan, or to his dog, also called Carl Sagan but mostly he speaks into his ipod, describing what he sees. His plan is to launch the ipod into space, so aliens will know about life on earth. To that end, he takes himself and Carl Sagan across country to the Southwest High Altitude Rocket Festival, befriends some fellow space-nerds, looks for his father, and discovers a lot more about life and how to live. At times poignant, sometimes funny, but always full of heart. Ages 11-13 Lindy Jones

-----

An astonishingly moving middle-grade debut about a space-obsessed boy's quest for family and home. All eleven-year old Alex wants is to launch his iPod into space. With a series of audio recordings, he will show other lifeforms out in the cosmos what life on Earth, his Earth, is really like.  But for a boy with a long-dead dad, a troubled mum, and a mostly-not-around brother, Alex struggles with the big questions. Where do I come from? Who's out there? And, above all, How can I be brave?  Determined to find the answers, Alex sets out on a remarkable road trip that will turn his whole world upside down ...For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng's debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.
By:   Jack Cheng
Imprint:   Puffin
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 19mm
Weight:   223g
ISBN:   9780141365602
ISBN 10:   0141365609
Pages:   250
Publication Date:   27 February 2017
Recommended Age:   From 9
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  Children / Juvenile
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jack Cheng was born in Shanghai and grew up in Michigan. He spent nearly a decade in New York, working in advertising and tech. He lives in Detroit. Follow him on Twitter @jackcheng.

Reviews for See You in the Cosmos

I love this book - the characters, the story, but most of all, the voice that writer Jack Cheng has created. See You in the Cosmos is the best I've read in a long, long, long time. It's a story that changes the way you see the world. -- Holly Goldberg Sloan, bestselling author of COUNTING BY 7'S Alex Petroski has a big mind, big dreams, and a big heart. His story is full of the real kind of magic-friends well-met, surprising journeys, and heartbreak and hope. This is a beautiful book. -- Ally Condie, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller MATCHED It is not always that we read a novel that so powerfully affirms our human capacity for grace and love and understanding; we need this book for the ways in which it gives us more to be human beings with. And it gives us Alex, whose face is turned to the stars. -- Gary D. Schmidt, author of National Book Award finalist OKAY FOR NOW This novel is a gift - a miracle. Alex fights with all of his magnificent, compassionate heart to remind us that we humans are first, last, and always creatures of hope. Jack Cheng is as brilliant as his debut, and more than that, he is wise. His novel made me want to be a better person. -- Paul Griffin, author of When Friendship Followed Me Home


See Also