LOW FLAT RATE AUST-WIDE $9.90 DELIVERY INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Tor U.K.
30 April 2024
'Scarlet is utterly stunning. The intrigue and adventure keep you turning the page in this exciting tale of revolution, vampires and the guillotine' - T. L. Huchu, author of The Library of the Dead

Revolution's a bloodthirsty business . . .

Revolutionary France is no place to be, especially for aristocrat vampires facing the guillotine. But the League of the Scarlet Pimpernel are determined to rescue them. And they have an ace up their sleeve: Eleanor, a lowly maid from an English estate with a striking resemblance to French royalty.

For Eleanor, the League and their legendary deeds are little more than rumour - until she's drawn into their most dangerous plot yet. The mission? Travel to France in disguise, impersonate Queen Marie Antoinette and rescue the royal family. If they succeed, it'll be the heist of the century.

But there's more to fear than ardent Revolutionaries. For Eleanor stumbles across a centuries-old war between vampires and their fiercest enemy. And they're out for blood . . .

Sunday Times bestselling Scarlet is the first book in the Scarlet Revolution trilogy, set during the turbulent French Revolution, and featuring all of Genevieve Cogman's trademark wit and fast-paced plotting. It's perfect for fans of The Invisible Library series, Kim Newman and Gail Carriger.

'This book is a smart, swashbucking joy. I loved it.' - H.G. Parry, author of The Magician's Daughter
By:  
Imprint:   Tor U.K.
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 130mm,  Width: 196mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   231g
ISBN:   9781529083743
ISBN 10:   1529083745
Series:   The Scarlet Revolution
Pages:   336
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Genevieve Cogman started on Tolkien and Sherlock Holmes at an early age, and has never looked back. But on a perhaps more prosaic note, she has an MSc in Statistics with Medical Applications and has wielded this in an assortment of jobs: clinical coder, data analyst and classifications specialist. Although The Invisible Library was her debut novel, she previously worked as a freelance roleplaying-game writer. She is the author of the Invisible Library series and Scarlet, the first in the Scarlet Revolution trilogy. Genevieve's hobbies include patchwork, beading, knitting and gaming, and she lives in the north of England.

Reviews for Scarlet

I absolutely loved this . . . flavoured with truly unique mythology and a dash of the eldritch. Such clever, creepy, elaborate world-building and snarky, sexy-smart characters! -- N. K. Jemisin on <i>The Invisible Library</i> Irene is a great heroine: fiery, resourceful and no one’s fool, she has a wonderfully droll sense of humour – much like the novel itself -- <i>Guardian </i>on <i>The Masked City</i> Brilliant and so much fun. Skullduggery, Librarians and dragons – Cogman keeps upping the ante on this delightful series! -- Charles Stross on <i>The Burning Page</i> A fantastic addition to Genevieve Cogman’s oeuvre, and paves the way for a deeper exploration of the fantastic world that she has created. -- <i>Fantasy Book Review</i> on <i>The Lost Plot</i> Cogman fills a captivating story with animated characters and propels the narrative at a cracking pace, planting perfectly timed plot twists and reversals of fortune along the way -- <i>Guardian </i>on <i>The Mortal Word</i>


See Also