Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Sacred Hunger

Barry Unsworth



In stock
Ready to ship


Penguin Books Ltd
04 February 1993
Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Booker Prizes
WINNER OF THE 1992 BOOKER PRIZE 'Gripping . . . SACRED HUNGER covers a period between 1752 and 1765 . . . it concerns the entangled and conflicted fortunes of two cousins- Erasmus Kemp, the son of a Lancashire merchant, and Matthew Paris, a scholar and surgeon just released from prison for denying Holy Writ . . . the Liverpool Merchant is the vessel on which the whole of the novel hinges, and it carries the reader deep into the history of man's iniquitous greed . . . AS REGARDS ITS DRAMATIC BREADTH AND ENERGY, NO RECENT DOMESTIC NOVEL HAS COME WITHIN A MILE OF IT' - Anthony Quinn in the Independent
By:   Barry Unsworth
Imprint:   Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 38mm
Weight:   437g
ISBN:   9780140119930
ISBN 10:   0140119930
Pages:   640
Publication Date:   04 February 1993
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Barry Unsworth won the Booker Prize with SACRED HUNGER and has been shortlisted for PASCALI'S ISLAND and MORALITY PLAY. He is author of many other acclaimed novels. Originally from Durham he now lives in Italy.

Reviews for Sacred Hunger

Centering on the voyage of a mid-18th-century slave-trading ship, this is a magnificent tale of corruption and greed, of men under pressure and moral choices. In 1752, on a wave of optimism, the Liverpool Merchant sets sail to buy and sell African slaves. The owner and captain are looking for a quick profit; the crew are seduced by visions of lewd African women. But once the slaves are on board disease spreads through the cramped ship, leading to acts of barbarity which bring about bloody consequences. Booker Prize winner 1992. (Kirkus UK)

  • Winner of Booker Prize for Fiction 1992
  • Winner of Booker Prize for Fiction 1992.

See Also