PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Reborn in the USA

An Englishman's Love Letter to His Chosen Home

Roger Bennett

$49.99

Hardback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

Dey Street Books, an imprint of HarperCollins US
28 April 2022
The #1 New York Times Bestseller
One-half of the celebrated Men in Blazers duo, longtime culture and soccer commentator Roger Bennett traces the origins of his love affair with America, and how he went from a depraved, pimply faced Jewish boy in 1980's Liverpool to become the quintessential Englishman in New York. A memoir for fans of Jon Ronson and Chuck Klosterman, but with Roger Bennett's signature pop culture flair and humor.

Being a teenager isn't easy, no matter where in the world you live or how much it does or doesn't rain in your hometown. As an outsider-a private-schooled Jewish kid in working-class, heavily Catholic Liverpool-Roger Bennett wasn't winning any popu larity contests. But there was one idea, or ideal, that burned bright in Roger's heart. That was America- with its sunny skies, beautiful women, and cool kids with flipped collars who ate at McDonald's. When he embraced American popular culture, the dull gray world he lived in turned to neon teal-a color which had not even been invented in England yet. Intro duced first through the gateway drug of The Love Boat, then to Rolling Stone, the NFL, John Hughes movies, Run-DMC, and Tracy Chapman, Roger embraced everything that would capture the imagination of a teenager growing up Stateside. When he made a real, in-the-flesh American friend who invited him over for the summer, he got to visit the promised land. A month in Chicago, and a life-changing night spent in the company of the Chicago Bears, was the first hit of freedom, of independence, of the Roger Bennett he knew he could be.

(Re)Born in the USA captures the universality of growing pains, growing up, and growing out of where you come from. Drenched in the culture of the late '80s and '90s from the UK and the USA, and the heartfelt, hilarious sense of humor that has made Roger Bennett so beloved by his listeners, here is both a truly unique coming-of-age story and the love letter to America that the country needs right now.
By:  
Imprint:   Dey Street Books, an imprint of HarperCollins US
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 229mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   493g
ISBN:   9780062958693
ISBN 10:   0062958690
Pages:   336
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Roger Bennett is a broadcaster, podcaster, and filmmaker, who has, through Men in Blazers, become one of the most prominent football broadcasters in the United States. Along with Michael Davies, Men in Blazers has turned a weekly Premier League podcast into a popular television show on NBCSN covering multiple sports, including women's soccer, golf, and the NHL. He is the co-author with Davies of the New York Times bestseller of Men in Blazers Presents Encyclopedia BlazerTanica, and has also co-authored Bar Mitzvah Disco, Camp Camp and You Shall Know Us by the Trail of Our Vinyl.

Reviews for Reborn in the USA: An Englishman's Love Letter to His Chosen Home

How many worlds can one bloke conquer? When that bloke is a warm hearted, funny, smart and hilarious storyteller named Roger Bennett, the answer seems to be: as many as he wants. This book, part memoir part love letter to his adopted home country of the United States, Reborn in the USA captivated me from first page to last. --Brian Koppelman, co-creator and showrunner, Billions Entertaining... Bennett is good-natured, self-deprecating, and wryly observant throughout... A three-cheers homage to an America that, Bennett suggests, is returning to its open-arms promise of days past.--Kirkus Reviews Reborn in the USA is about a kid who grows up in the North of England, yearning to be an American in all its terrible glory. But it's really about so much more. Hilariously written from Roger Bennett's wry and thoughtful perspective, this book is a universal story of growing up and trying to figure out who you are in the world. A time capsule but also a timeless coming of age tale.--Nick Kroll, co-creator of Big Mouth, Netflix It may not have been your teenage fever dream to leave your dull, rainy hometown in England to move to the land of neon, MTV, and the NFL. But it was Roger Bennett's, and lucky for us, we get to read about it in hilarious, excruciating, and ultimately uplifting detail in (Re)Born in the USA. A book that celebrates growing up, popular culture, and, the universality of needing to become the person you're meant to be. --Nora McInerny, bestselling author of It's Okay to Laugh (Crying Is Cool Too) and creator of the Terrible, Thanks for Asking podcast What's most compelling about this book is the way it shifts the view of how we're supposed to think about the United States. It's a British projection of late 20th century America that's now rejected by most Americans and assumed to be false. Yet what people in American have been conditioned to view as an illusion was wholly genuine to Roger Bennett, and this memoir is a remarkable reminder that perception is not merely a form of historical reality. Perception is all that we have.--Chuck Klosterman, bestselling author of But What If We're Wrong? and Chuck Klosterman X Bennett might be the only writer alive who can weave childhood obsessions with both the Super Bowl-winning Chicago Bears and Tracy Chapman into a singular coming of age story. Reborn in the USA is a poignant, rollicking read, reminding us not only of what it means to pursue the American dream, but what that dream should--and still can--represent.--Mina Kimes, NFL Analyst and Senior Writer, ESPN What makes Reborn in the USA so special is the storytelling: Bennett's hilarious, keenly observed, and deeply moving memoir reminds us that dreams can come true--if not always quite in the way we dreamt them. A wonderful book about coming-of-age in the 1980s, dreaming of a different life, and falling in love with an idea of a place--and then with the place itself.--John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down


See Also