APRIL'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Raft of Stars

Andrew J. Graff

Double Rewards
$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Harper Collins
01 April 2021
Double Reward Points
More info

The further you run the closer you get to the truth...

An instant classic for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and We Begin at the End!

The most heartbreaking and beautifully written debut novel of 2021.

One summer night in Wisconsin, the lives of two ten-year-old boys are changed forever...

Tired of seeing his best friend Dale Breadwin abused by his alcoholic father, Fischer Branson takes action. A gunshot rings out, and Bread and Fish flee into the woods. They build a raft, but the river quickly leads them into even greater danger.

In their wake travel a group of adults - each determined to save the boys from the terrors of Ironsford Gorge.

The further they go, the more the wilderness starts to change them in profound and unexpected ways. And when they reach the edge of the Gorge itself, they begin to understand the true violence and beauty of the natural world, and its ability to heal.

No matter where you run danger will always follow...
By:   Andrew J. Graff
Imprint:   Harper Collins
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   370g
ISBN:   9780008453596
ISBN 10:   0008453594
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   01 April 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Andrew J. Graff is the author of novel Raft of Stars. His fiction and essays have appeared in Image and Dappled Things. Andrew grew up fishing, hiking, and hunting in Wisconsin's Northwoods. After a tour of duty in Afghanistan, Graff earned an MFA from the Iowa Writers' Workshop. He lives in Ohio and teaches at Wittenberg University.

Reviews for Raft of Stars

'Absolutely wonderful. Beautifully written, characters that will stay with me and a descriptive prose that was just a feast for the senses. It really took me away, and I didn't want it to end' Jo Spain 'The best book I've read all year! Raft of Stars made me laugh, made me cry, gave me heart palpitations - it was BLOODY BRILLIANT! The characters leap from the page into your heart & stay there until the nail biting end! I am going to sing its praises far and wide and press it into as many hands as I can!' Anita Frank 'I had no idea people wrote books like Andrew J. Graff's Raft of Stars anymore-a rousing adventure yarn full of danger and heart and humor and characters worth worrying about. It's as if, after observing the deplorable state we're all in right now, the author took it upon himself to raise our collective spirits. Bravo!' Richard Russo, author of Empire Falls 'Graff has not only crafted an adventure story with a warm heart at its center, but a whole town of characters for readers to fall in love with' J. Ryan Stradal, author of The Lager Queen of Minnesota 'Reminiscent of stories like Stand By Me and Have You Seen Luis Velez?, Graff's debut novel will enchant fans of Chris Cleave and Melissa Bank. Graff's narrative voice is lyrical, with a Southern Gothic edge that fits surprisingly well with the Wisconsin Northwoods setting. Exploring the necessity of the stories we tell ourselves to survive, Raft of Stars is a clever, compelling coming-of-age tale' Booklist 'In ruggedly beautiful prose, and with a deep affection for his damaged, but always loveable characters, Graff delivers a novel with real heart and soul. An authentic look into the heartland of America, into one-parent households. Like a barrel going over a waterfalls, Raft of Stars sweeps its reader downstream, and fast. Hold on for the ride' Nickolas Butler, author of Little Faith


See Also