MARCH'S BIG RELEASES TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Prisoner of Midnight

#8 James Asher Vampire

Barbara Hambly Anna Telfer

$35.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Severn House Publishers
04 February 2020
Vampire Don Simon Ysido has been captured and held aboard a ship heading to the US to act as a slave, and Dr Lydia Asher must stop it . . . at any cost. March, 1917. The goal of every government involved in the Great War has been achieved: industrialist Spenser Cochran has drugged and enslaved a vampire, Don Simon Ysidro, to do his bidding, and is now on the way to the US aboard a luxury ship.

Horrified, Dr Lydia Asher secures her passage on the vessel to rescue her friend from Cochran's chemical thrall. Meanwhile, her husband makes a dangerous alliance with the vampires of Paris to send Lydia the information she needs about the drug.

As they cross the Atlantic evidence mounts that another vampire is hiding aboard the ship, indiscriminately murdering passengers. Lydia knows she must solve both cases before the ship docks, and that breaking Cochran's hold on Don Simon will not be enough . . . She must kill him.
By:   Barbara Hambly
Edited by:   Anna Telfer
Imprint:   Severn House Publishers
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   Main
Dimensions:   Height: 217mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 17mm
Weight:   260g
ISBN:   9781847519863
ISBN 10:   1847519865
Series:   A James Asher Vampire Novel
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   04 February 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Barbara Hambly, though a native of Southern California, lived in New Orleans for a number of years while married to the late science fiction writer George Alec Effinger. Hambly holds a degree in medieval history from the University of California and has written novels in numerous genres.

Reviews for Prisoner of Midnight (#8 James Asher Vampire)

Darkly witty . a lively international travel mystery with outcomes that modern readers will find morally satisfying ... Fans of Lydia and Don Simon will love the focus on their connection * <b>Publishers Weekly</b> * Hambly's exceptional knowledge of history and her deft touch at imbuing emotion into her characters are evident in her latest, and the mix of vampire horror and historical mystery-with an extraordinary attention to detail-will make this another fan favorite * <b>Booklist</b> * Deeply satisfying ... compelling and atmo spheric, with subtle and nuanced characterisation * <b>Locus Magazine</b> * Hambly continues to mix vampire fiction and historical mystery in a way that will delight her fans * <b>Booklist</b> on <b>Darkness on his Bones</b> *


  • Short-listed for Locus Awards: Horror Novel 2020 (UK)

See Also