SUMMER CATALOGUE OUT NOW: VIEW

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$22.99

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Bloomsbury
01 October 2020
Picture books; Picture storybooks; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Epic Fantasy; Questing & Adventure; Humorous Fantasy; Kids; Pirates
Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP'S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you've ever seen. Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and - for two intrepid children - he's about to transform a perfectly ordinary evening into a riotous adventure beneath a pirate moon. It's time to make some PIRATE STEW. Pirate Stew! Pirate Stew! Pirate Stew for me and you! Pirate Stew, Pirate Stew Eat it and you won't be blue You can be a pirate too! Marvellously silly and gloriously entertaining, this tale of pirates, flying ships, donut feasts and some rather magical stew is perfect for all pirates, both young and old. With a deliciously rhyming text from master storyteller Neil Gaiman, and spellbinding illustrations by the supremely talented Chris Riddell, three-times-winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, this is the picture book of the year! Joyful, quirky and action-packed, it makes a spectacular and magical gift.
By:   Neil Gaiman
Illustrated by:   Chris Riddell
Imprint:   Bloomsbury
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 300mm,  Width: 237mm, 
Weight:   560g
ISBN:   9781526614728
ISBN 10:   1526614723
Pages:   48
Publication Date:   01 October 2020
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Neil Gaiman has written highly acclaimed books for both children and adults and is the first author to have won both the Carnegie and Newbery Medals for the same work - The Graveyard Book. Many of his books, including Coraline and Stardust, have been made into films; Neverwhere has been adapted for TV and radio; and American Gods and Good Omens have been adapted into major TV series. He has also written two episodes of Doctor Who and appeared in The Simpsons as himself. Chris Riddell is a much-loved illustrator and acclaimed political cartoonist. He has won the Costa Children's Book Award, the Nestle Gold Award, and is the only artist to have won the Kate Greenaway Medal three times, most recently for his illustrations in The Sleeper and the Spindle. He was Waterstones Children's Laureate from 2015 to 2017 and has illustrated the work of many celebrated children's authors, including five Neil Gaiman titles and J.K. Rowling's The Tales of Beedle the Bard. He is the author of the bestselling Goth Girl and Ottoline series and co-creator of The Edge Chronicles.

Reviews for Pirate Stew

Neil Gaiman is the nearest thing children's books have to a rock star: if you enjoy fantasy, he is irresistible * The Times * Featuring a flying pirate ship, a delicious donut shop and a rollicking rhyme by Neil Gaiman (which is best read aloud for full pirate effect), Pirate Stew is a great book for storytime with brilliant illustration (featuring a mixed race family) by former Children's Laureate Chris Riddell * BookTrust * Readers may wish that Talk Like a Pirate Day lasted all year long * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) * A riotous rhyming picture book by a pair of ingenious book-aneers. What a witty feast of sing-song verse and visuals this is ... A buccaneering blast of a book that demands to be read aloud, acted out and treasured like ill-gotten gains! * LoveReading4Kids * The talented dream team of Gaiman and Riddell have done it again. Fantastic rhyming story with the most fabulously intricate illustrations. I could look at them for hours. Perfect for reading out loud or for any little readers, piratical or otherwise * NetGalley Reviewer * Gaiman's literary prowess and Riddell's genius illustrations come together again in a brilliant book, which is guaranteed to fly off bookshelves and library shelves around the world * NetGalley Reviewer * Fans of Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell are going to love this. Funny and magical and bound to be a great story before bedtime * NetGalley Reviewer * Highly enjoyable ... the perfect ingredient for a raucous read-aloud. Riddell's predictably fabulous illustrations are ablaze with colour and detail * Booklist *


See Also