Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Ooku: The Inner Chambers Vol 15 (GN)

Fumi Yoshinaga



We can order this in for you
How long will it take?


10 June 2019
Graphic novels: Manga; Fiction-related items; Research & information: general; Dystopia; Society; Manga; Shogakukan Manga Award
In Eisner-nominated Fumi Yoshinaga's alternative history of Edo-era Japan, the men of Japan are dying out, and the women have taken up the reigns of power-including the shogun's seat!

In Edo period Japan, a strange new disease called the Redface Pox has begun to prey on the country's men. Within eighty years of the first outbreak, the male population has fallen by seventy-five percent. Women have taken on all the roles traditionally granted to men, even that of the shogun. The men, precious providers of life, are carefully protected. And the most beautiful of the men are sent to serve in the shogun's Inner Chamber...

Taneatsu's shogun Iesada has died, but unlike previous bereaved consorts, he has been denied the refuge of taking Buddhist vows. Stuck in the Inner Chambers, he has instead thrown himself into supporting the new shogun, Iemochi. But salacious rumors about the nature of their relationship and the arrival of Iemochi's new consort threaten to make a mockery of his noble intentions!
By:   Fumi Yoshinaga
Imprint:   Viz
Country of Publication:   United States
Volume:   15
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 146mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   354g
ISBN:   9781974703166
ISBN 10:   1974703169
Series:   Ooku: The Inner Chambers
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   10 June 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Fumi Yoshinaga is a Tokyo-born manga creator who debuted in 1994 with Tsuki to Sandaru (The Moon and the Sandals). Yoshinaga has won numerous awards, including the 2009 Osamu Tezuka Cultural Prize for Ooku, the 2002 Kodansha Manga Award for her series Antique Bakery, the 2006 Japan Media Arts Festival Excellence Award for Ooku. She was also nominated for the 2008 Eisner Award for Best Writer/Artist.

See Also