PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

No Reading Allowed

The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever

Bryce Gladfelter Chris Carpenter Raj Haldar

$27.99

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Sourcebooks
18 January 2021
Age range 4+ From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of P is for Pterodactyl comes another hilarious fresh look at the English language!

In the vein of Eats, Shoots, and Leaves, this delightful new book places pairs of similar-sounding sentences together and illustrates them in two hilariously different ways. These illustrations gone awry highlight how absurd the English language can be. But, have no fear!

The illustrations will give you all the clues you need to decipher the true meanings behind these wily words. You won't be tricked by phrases like 'C Major, it's a beautiful key! / See Major, it's a beautiful quay!' Context clues, bright illustrations, and rhyming words will help readers navigate the ridiculous text with ease.

Watch an interview with Raj Haldar and editor Kelly Barrales-Saylor here See the announcement of the book at the 2020 online BEA children's dinner here Click here to watch the video of Raj Halder explaining who he is, the concept of NRA, and reading a few favourite spreads from No Reading Allowed.

'Endlessly funny...

Preposterous situations and farcical sound-alike sentences will elicit groans and giggles.' - Kirkus Reviews 'This book is a stellar follow-up to P Is for Pterodactyl with all the wit and humour of its predecessor, and then some. A perfect way to teach kids about language, or maybe just confuse the heck out of them, but either way, it'll be fun for the whole family.' - Britt Margit Hopkins, Second Star to the Right 'Those who love wordplay are the natural constituency for No Reading Allowed: The Worst Read-Aloud Book Ever, a picture book that's bright with comic scenes...

[and] brilliant pairings of picture and word (and word with word).' - The Wall Street Journal Book Review
By:   ,
Illustrated by:   Bryce Gladfelter
Imprint:   Sourcebooks
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 290mm,  Width: 223mm,  Spine: 12mm
Weight:   501g
ISBN:   9781728206592
ISBN 10:   1728206596
Pages:   40
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 4 to 8 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Better known by his stage name Lushlife, Raj Haldar is an American rapper, composer, and producer from Philadelphia, PA. Chris Carpenter is a software developer for a tech startup in New York.

Reviews for No Reading Allowed: The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever

Endlessly funny... Preposterous situations and farcical sound-alike sentences will elicit groans and giggles. - Kirkus Reviews


See Also