FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$24.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

HARPER360
20 March 2019
Children's & Educational; Comic strip fiction & graphic novels (Children's&YA)
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds-and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!
By:   Jerry Craft
Illustrated by:   Jerry Craft
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 229mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 17mm
Weight:   540g
ISBN:   9780062691194
ISBN 10:   0062691198
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   20 March 2019
Recommended Age:   From 8 to 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama's Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center's Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.com. Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama's Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center's Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.com.

Reviews for New Kid

Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year. -- Booklist <strong>(starred review)</strong> Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about! -- Jeff Kinney, Author of <em>Diary of a Wimpy Kid</em> An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America. -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> This is more than a story about being the new kid-it's a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves. -- School Library Journal <strong>(starred review)</strong> This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space. -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong> Craft's full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art. -- Horn Book Magazine


  • Winner of Coretta Scott King Award (Author) (United States).
  • Winner of Coretta Scott King Award (Author) 2020
  • Winner of Newbery Medal (Children's) 2020
  • Winner of Newbery Medal (United States).

See Also