Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Mr Carver's Whale

Lyn Hughes

Double Rewards


In stock
Ready to ship


01 August 2022
Double Reward Points
More info

1850: A sea-chest full of books arrives for Antonio Mateus Carvalho Cabral, the younger son of a family of whalers on the small volcanic island of Pico ...

The Carvalho brothers - handsome Marcelinho and clever Antonio - are destined to spend their lives hunting whales. But the arrival of an unexpected gift changes both their lives forever. As the younger Carvalho discovers the fascinating world of the whale, a chasm opens between the two brothers, made all the more perilous by their shared passion for the alluring and wilful Margarida Machado.

From the Azores to Lisbon, from Newfoundland to Australia, our hero travels in search of love, fortune and his very soul. It is in Eden, a small whaling port on the south coast of New South Wales, that he finally finds salvation in the shape of Alice Binney, fellow lost soul and impostor, in flight from her dark past. An enduring bond forms between the two, culminating in a final, dazzling act of atonement.

Gloriously dark, delightful, witty and moving, Mr Carver's Whale is a novel of our many crimes against nature and the human heart, and the price we have to pay for our sins. But can love ever really be a crime?

'A vast and generous novel ... Author Lyn Hughes's love for her characters is evident, and while wonderfully poignant and whimsical, they are not without depth. Their rich inner lives are exquisitely rendered. Mr Carver's Whale is a delightful, almost mythical novel filled with books, ghosts, poetry, oceans, whales, love, desire and death. It is recommended for fans of Captain Corelli's Mandolin and A Gentleman in Moscow.' Books+Publishing
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   366g
ISBN:   9781460762950
ISBN 10:   1460762959
Pages:   288
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Born in Wales in 1952, Lyn Hughes spent eighteen years in South Africa before settling in Australia in 1982. She is the author of the critically acclaimed novels, The Factory (1990), shortlisted for the National Book Council's New Writing Award, One Way Mirrors (1993), The Bright House (2000) and Flock (2012). Lyn divides her time between Sydney and the Blue Mountains.

See Also