SUMMER CATALOGUE OUT NOW: VIEW

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Maps Edge

#1 Tethered Citadel

David Hair

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Jo Fletcher Books
13 October 2020
Fantasy; Epic Fantasy; Sword & Sorcery
OUR SUMMER CATALOGUE BONUS BOOK OFFER!
Comes with a FREE copy of Ann Leckie's PROVENANCE - while stock lasts!

Follow a renegade sorcerer off the edge of the map, in a thrilling adventure perfect for fans of Scott Lynch, Brandon Sanderson and Sebastien de Castell . . . Dashryn Cowl has run out of places to hide. The erstwhile sorcerer of the Imperial College fled the Bolgravian Empire when his high-flying family fell from grace, but the tyrannical empire is still hunting for him. So when he gets his hands on a map showing a place outside the known lands rich in istariol, the mineral that fuels sorcery, he sees a way back to power. There's only one problem: it means masquerading as an Imperial Cartomancer (an instant death sentence) and finding some dupes to help him mine the istariol in secret, no questions asked. But somehow, amid the dangers of the road (floods and avalanches, beasts, barbarians and monsters), a strange thing begins to happen: Dashryn starts to care about his ragtag followers and their strange odyssey into the ruins of an ancient forgotten civilisation. But his past won't let him be: the implacable Imperial Bloodhound Toran Zorne has caught his scent, and Zorne has never yet failed to bring his quarry to ground. At the edge of the map, there's no going forward and no going back . . .
By:   David Hair
Imprint:   Jo Fletcher Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 228mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   560g
ISBN:   9781529401936
ISBN 10:   1529401933
Series:   Tethered Citadel
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   13 October 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

David Hair, an award-winning writer of fantasy, has been inspired by his travels around the globe. He was born in New Zealand, spent time in Britain, Europe and India (which inspired THE MOONTIDE and SUNSURGE QUARTETS and the RAVANA series). After some years in Bangkok, Thailand, he and his wife returned to New Zealand, where they are now settled (for the time being). His epic fantasy sagas THE MOONTIDE QUARTET and THE SUNSURGE QUARTET and the YA saga THE RETURN OF RAVANA, his retelling of the Indian epic The Ramayana, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books, as is his new fantasy adventure series, THE THETHERED CITADEL, starting with Map's Edge.

Reviews for Maps Edge (#1 Tethered Citadel)

Hair is a talented storyteller and Map's Edge a satisfying and fun read, entertaining and rewarding that will sate the appetite of any fantasy lover looking for an epic adventure * The Tattooed Book Geek * A fast-paced, entertaining read, set within a world that I want to explore more of * Beneath A Thousand Skies * There's a lot of cool stuff, ancient civilisations, magic, a heist, personal loss, love, and humour. I enjoyed this so much * Alalhambra Book Reviews * I thoroughly enjoyed this magic- and quest-filled fantasy. I love the way David Hair writes . . . and the world he has created is a very solid one that holds the story perfectly * Dawn's Book Reviews * A page-turning adventure filled with excitement and intriguing characters. For those loving an epic fantasy with plenty of sword-fights, gun-play, bare-fisted combat and battles between sorcerers, this book's for you * Amazing Stories * Represents modern epic fantasy at its best * Fantasy Book Critic on the Moontide Quartet * Promises to recall epic fantasy's finest * Tor.com on the Moontide Quartet * For anyone looking for a new sprawling fantasy epic to stick their teeth into, Empress Of The Fall is an ultimately satisfying journey into a fascinating and chaotic landscape * SciFiNow on Empress of the Fall *


See Also