Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Magnus Carlsen

60 Memorable Games

Andrew Soltis



In stock
Ready to ship


Batsford Ltd
19 March 2021
Following on from the long success of one of the most important chess books ever written, Bobby Fischer: My 60 Memorable Games, renowned chess writer Andrew Soltis delivers a book on today's blockbuster chess player Magnus Carlsen.

At 28 Magnus Carlsen is already considered by many chess fans to be the greatest player of all time. He will defend his world championship title this autumn and if he wins, it will set a record of five championship match victories. This book take you through how he wins by analysing 60 of the games that made him who he is, describing the intricacies behind his and his opponent's strategies, the tactical justification of moves and the psychological battle in each one. You''ll find beautifully simple positional play next to out-of-this-world combinations that are just breathtaking.

This book is essential for chess enthusiasts, competitors and professionals of all skill sets.
Imprint:   Batsford Ltd
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 28mm
ISBN:   9781849946506
ISBN 10:   1849946507
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

International Grandmaster Andrew Soltis is chess correspondent for the New York Post and a very popular chess writer. He is the author of many books including What it Takes to Become a Chess Master, Studying Chess Made Easy and David Vs Goliath Chess.

Reviews for Magnus Carlsen: 60 Memorable Games

'For those readers interested in familiarizing themselves with the games of Magnus Carlsen, this book's chronological presentation of many of his best games will definitely be worth a read' -- American Chess Magazine 'Soltis has reached new heights with these two new books ... the notes provided are pithy, enlightening and accurate' -- Raymond Keene * The Article *

See Also