FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Hachette Australia
28 July 2020
Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- 'I wanna know what love is' is a refrain well-suited to this insightful and warm story of friendships and family, youthful exuberance, emotional turmoil, love, sexual urgency and frustrations. It's also a story of secrets, lies and regret - and monumental betrayals. Mina's character is well-defined and by the book's end the reclusive, enigmatic Elaine, Mina's mother, has also come into view. Craig Kirchner

-----

A stunning debut novel from the winner of the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

When Mina receives an urgent call from her best friend back in Melbourne, her world is turned upside down. Her reclusive mother, Elaine, has left the house for the first time in twelve years.

Mina drops everything to fly home, only to discover that Elaine will not talk about her sudden return to the world, nor why she's spent so much time hiding from it. Their reunion leaves Mina raking through pieces of their painful past in a bid to uncover the truth.

Both tender and fierce, heartbreaking and funny, Kokomo is a story about how secrets and love have the power to bring us together and tear us apart.

-----

'A coming-of-age novel for the Peter Pan generation, Kokomo juggles the dissatisfactions of sex, marriage, and corporate ambition with deceptive lightness and radiant empathy. Reading this book felt like drinking with friends in a cozy pub until last call; I emerged from it shiny-faced, unbothered by the cold, wanting more.' - Laura Elizabeth Woollett , author of THE LOVE OF A BAD MAN and BEAUTIFUL REVOLUTIONARY

'This is a book that gets right into your body. It makes you laugh, makes you think, but it doesn't stop there - it plays with your heart and leaves it different. This is smart, raw, tender fiction that feels as real as life.' - Ronnie Scott, author of THE ADVERSARY

'Graceful and raw, this is a remarkable study of the forces of desire and regret. Hannan is both acute witness and masterful reporter of love in all its faulty and essential shapes. Kokomo dazzles, pierces, and stays.' - Robert Lukins , author of THE EVERLASTING SUNDAY

'I can't remember being so excited by a debut novel. Kokomo is a delight, a book I wanted to finish in a greedy rush but one I also wanted to savour. It's so full of life, on each page there are tiny moments of delight, irreverence, tenderness. Kokomo is the Australian response to Normal People, this is Monkey Grip for the new generation of readers. This book will be read and cherished by many, and Victoria Hannan is a name we will see a great deal more in the future.' - J.P. Pomare , author of CALL ME EVIE and IN THE CLEARING

'Hannan's Kokomo is a sharply observed novel of one woman's facade and how it falls; an undoing that is both ordinary and compelling. This debut heralds an exciting new Australian voice with a story of estrangement from kin, friendship, love, self and country - one that will be familiar to many, and surprising, for it is often a shock to see one's reflection.' - Anna Krien , author of NIGHT GAMES and ACT OF GRACE
By:   Victoria Hannan
Imprint:   Hachette Australia
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 235mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 24mm
Weight:   390g
ISBN:   9780733643323
ISBN 10:   0733643329
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   28 July 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Victoria Hannan is a writer, photographer and creative director living in Melbourne. Her writing has appeared on McSweeney's Internet Tendency, 3:AM magazine and in her monthly TinyLetter about swimming pools. Kokomo, her first novel, was written at artist in residence programmes in Brazil, Tasmania and Iceland. Kokomo was the 2019 winner of the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

Reviews for Kokomo

Kokomo is a beautiful, muscular work - in which Hannan refuses to flinch, to look away, to soften things. Scenes from Kokomo are so uncomfortably familiar - crackling with longing, boredom, love, hurt and hope. - Alice Bishop, author of A CONSTANT HUM An intricate, glittering gem. One of the best debuts in years. - Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA and THE RIP I can't remember being so excited by a debut novel. - J.P. Pomare, author of CALL ME EVIE and IN THE CLEARING Kokomo is unexpected and incredible storytelling. Crystalline, genuine, heartbreaking and powerful. - Sarah Schmidt, author of SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE With its many shifts in time and focus, Kokomo is difficult to summarise but Hannan pieces together the story of these two families with clarity, grace and a handle on structure that is rare in a debut novel. This superbly written book will appeal to readers of Zadie Smith and Jennifer Down. - Books + Publishing


See Also