LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Kit McBride Gets a Wife

Amy Barry

Double Rewards
$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Simon & Schuster
03 April 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

Kit McBride is as rugged as they come, but the bookish cowboy is about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime when he’s saddled with a surprise mail-order bride. A hilarious historical romance for fans of Bridgerton and Calamity Jane.

Kit McBride knows that Buck’s Creek, Montana, is no place to find a wife. Good thing he’s not looking for one – between him and his brothers, and little sister Junebug, they manage all right on their own, thank you very much. Unbeknownst to Kit, though, Junebug is sick to death of cleaning and cooking for her big brothers, so she places an ad in The Matrimonial News to get him hitched.

Maddy Mooney, recently arrived from Ireland, has found employment with an eccentric young widow determined to regain her wealth. And when her mistress decides to answer an ad for a mail-order bride, Madd​y is dragged along for the ride. But as soon as they arrive out West, Maddy’s mistress abandons her to chase fortune further afield, and she is left to assume the widow’s name, position, and matrimonial prospects.

Penniless, and with no other recourse in the wilderness, Maddy must convince Kit she’s the wife he never knew he needed.

 

By:  
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   Australia
Volume:   1
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 128mm, 
ISBN:   9781761425950
ISBN 10:   1761425951
Series:   McBrides of Montana
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Amy Barry writes sweeping historical stories about love. She’s fascinated with the landscapes of the American West and their complex long history, and she’s even more fascinated with people in all their weird tangled glory. Amy is Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at Flinders University in Adelaide, where she lives with her family. For more, visit @amybarryauthor on Instagram.

Reviews for Kit McBride Gets a Wife

‘Yee-freaking-haw! This book is a glistering masterpiece. I fell in love with Buck’s Creek and all its whacky inhabitants. Amy Barry is a genius!’ -- <B>Amy Andrews, author of <I>The Forbidden Affair</I></B> ‘The title tells the story, but we're in it for the ride! What a feel-good, happy, sunshiny read is Kit McBride Gets A Wife. Meet gentle giant Kit McBride (and his brothers – whew!), a meddling, curious, no-nonsense younger sister, an Irish maid, pesky trappers, a yappy dog and unpredictable weather and there you have it – gorgeous characters in an enthralling, page-turning fun-filled story, sassy and sweet in the wilds of Montana at Buck's Creek in 1886. Amy's love of the landscape is romance itself, beautifully written.’ -- <B>Darry Fraser, bestselling author of <I>The Milliner of Bendigo</I></B>


See Also