PayPal accepted MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Isle of Blood and Stone (#1 Tower of Winds)

Makiia Lucier

$18.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

Houghton Mifflin
01 October 2019
Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Epic Fantasy; Detective Fantasy; Young Adult Fantasy; Young Adult Paranormal Romance
In this vivid fantasy hailed as intriguing, compelling, and boldly enriching (BuzzFeed) two princes vanish, and now, eighteen years later, a riddle hidden on a mysterious map could chart a course towards the missing royals. Perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Tamora Pierce and now in paperback! Eighteen years ago two princes of the island kingdom of St. John del Mar were kidnapped and murdered, a deadly plot by the rival kingdom of Mondrago. Everyone knows the story, but for Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises, the aftermath of that tragic day is deeply personal. Elias grew up without his father, who was killed trying to protect the princes. Mercedes is half-Mondragan, leaving her to grow up in the shadow of del Mar's hate. And Ulises, as the youngest and only remaining prince, inherited the throne meant for his older brothers. Now, the three friends just want to move on with their lives. But when two maps surface - each with the same hidden riddle - troubling questions arise. What really happened to the young princes? And why do the maps look like they were drawn by Elias's father, whose body was never found? To discover what really happened that fateful day, Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises must follow the clues hidden in the maps, uncovering long-held secrets and unimaginable betrayals along the way. But the truth is dangerous, and not everyone wants it to come out. Isle of Blood and Stone is a sweeping fantasy full of intrigue and schemes, romance and friendship, and fearless explorers searching for the truth. AGES: 12 plus AUTHOR: Makiia Lucier grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam and holds degress in journalism and library studies from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She is the author of A Death-Struck Year, Isle of Blood and Stone, and Song of the Abyss.
By:   Makiia Lucier
Imprint:   Houghton Mifflin
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 211mm,  Width: 140mm, 
ISBN:   9781328604293
ISBN 10:   1328604292
Series:   Tower of Winds
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   01 October 2019
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 17 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Makiia Lucier grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam and holds degress in journalism and library studies from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She is the author of A Death-Struck Year, Isle of Blood and Stone, and Song of the Abyss. www.makiialucier.com Twitter @makiialucier.

Reviews for Isle of Blood and Stone (#1 Tower of Winds)

Intriguing, compelling, and boldly enriching, Lucier crafts a vivid fantasy that will appeal to readers who love getting lost in new worlds. --Buzzfeed An exhilarating tale of fantasy, political intrigue, fearless explorers, and heart-thumping romance. --Bustle Combining rich descriptions with a compelling mystery, Lucier (A Death-Struck Year) creates a vibrant world populated by appealing characters and enhances the story with subtle magical elements, a hint of romance, and a dose of political intrigue. --Publishers Weekly, STARRED review Readers craving a captivating adventure will find that and more in Lucier's brilliant fantasy. --Booklist, STARRED review Lucier has crafted an exciting plot of attempted murder and betrayal that simmers just below the surface, right up to the breathtaking twist in the final pages...Highly recommended where Tamora Pierce, V.E. Schwab, and Rachel Hartman are popular. --School Library Journal Deftly employing suspense and mystery, bolstered by tantalizing details about strange beasts and geographical fascinations, this original fantasy drops hints with masterful precision, tracing clues left in the maps to a startling conclusion. --Horn Book Magazine A romantic maritime epic and a charming tribute to mapmakers, calligraphers, and explorers. --Kirkus This is the perfect fantasy novel for those who appreciate a dramatic mystery with a bit of romance. --Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books An absorbing mystery. --VOYA


See Also