MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

In Praise of Veg

A modern kitchen companion

Alice Zaslavsky

$59.99   $55

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Murdoch Books
01 November 2020
For fans of Samin Nosrat, Anna Jones and Stephanie Alexander, the ultimate veg guide for food lovers

'Alice Zaslavsky is a force of nature!' Nigella Lawson


The definitive guide to making vegetables the centre of the plate.

In this comprehensive and fully illustrated kitchen companion, food writer and presenter Alice Zaslavsky profiles 50 favourite vegetable varieties, offering 150+ recipes reflective of both tradition and modernity, just as all good cooking should be. Uniquely organised by colour and filled with countless tips on flavour combinations, rule-of-thumb buying/storing/cooking methods, shortcuts, and veg wisdom from over 50 of the world's top chefs, In Praise of Veg will help beginners and avid cooks alike turn a bag of yawns or a produce-box surprise into a knock-out meal.

For the vegetarian or just veg-forward, In Praise of Veg is the most ambitious and comprehensive reference on the topic, as well as the delicious answer to the age-old question: what are we eating?

By:   Alice Zaslavsky
Imprint:   Murdoch Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 260mm,  Width: 200mm, 
Weight:   2.066kg
ISBN:   9781760525729
ISBN 10:   1760525723
Pages:   488
Publication Date:   01 November 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Well, hello there ... The vegetable matrix The heat spectrum The power pantry WHITE Garlic Horseradish - Wasabi Daikon Parsnip Kohlrabi Fennel Celeriac Cauliflower - Caulini Wombok YELLOW Ginger - Galangal - Turmeric Lemongrass Sweetcorn Patty pan squash ORANGE Carrot Sweet potato Butternut squash - Spaghetti squash Pumpkin RED Tomato - Tomatillo Radish Red capsicum Rhubarb Chilli PURPLE Turnip - Swede/Rutabaga Beetroot - Golden beet Radicchio - Endive Globe artichoke Eggplant BROWN Onion - Red onion - Shallot Potato Jerusalem artichoke Yams & tubers Mushrooms - Truffles DARK GREEN Spinach - Silverbeet & chard - Warrigal greens Rocket - Nettle Herbs Kale & cavolo nero Broccoli - Chinese broccoli - Broccolini Zucchini - Zucchini flowers Cucumber Beans - Bean shoots Okra LIGHT GREEN Leek - Spring onion Asparagus Celery - Celtuce Lettuce - Watercress Bok choy Brussels sprouts Peas & snow peas Cabbage Avocado - Bitter melon Take stock, make stock Epilogue Books you'll love Index

Alice Zaslavsky is a fresh voice in food, with a bright, inclusive tone that brings people into the kitchen and invites them to stay. Her modern, accessible approach to cooking has been honed through a career that spans champion food judge, critic, writer, television host and food literacy advocate. Alice is also the creator of Phenomenom, a digital toolbox that helps teachers slip more serves of veg into the curriculum.

  • Long-listed for Best Illustrated Non-fiction 2021 (Australia)
  • Long-listed for Illustrated Book of the Year 2021 (Australia)
  • Long-listed for Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)
  • Short-listed for Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)
  • Winner of Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)

See Also