SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

In Praise of Veg

A Modern Kitchen Companion

Alice Zaslavsky

$59.99   $55

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Murdoch Books
01 November 2020
For fans of Samin Nosrat, Anna Jones and Stephanie Alexander, the ultimate veg guide for food lovers

'Alice Zaslavsky is a force of nature!' Nigella Lawson


The definitive guide to making vegetables the centre of the plate.

In this comprehensive and fully illustrated kitchen companion, food writer and presenter Alice Zaslavsky profiles 50 favourite vegetable varieties, offering 150+ recipes reflective of both tradition and modernity, just as all good cooking should be. Uniquely organised by colour and filled with countless tips on flavour combinations, rule-of-thumb buying/storing/cooking methods, shortcuts, and veg wisdom from over 50 of the world's top chefs, In Praise of Veg will help beginners and avid cooks alike turn a bag of yawns or a produce-box surprise into a knock-out meal.

For the vegetarian or just veg-forward, In Praise of Veg is the most ambitious and comprehensive reference on the topic, as well as the delicious answer to the age-old question: what are we eating?

By:   Alice Zaslavsky
Imprint:   Murdoch Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 260mm,  Width: 200mm, 
Weight:   2.066kg
ISBN:   9781760525729
ISBN 10:   1760525723
Pages:   488
Publication Date:   01 November 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Well, hello there ... The vegetable matrix The heat spectrum The power pantry WHITE Garlic Horseradish - Wasabi Daikon Parsnip Kohlrabi Fennel Celeriac Cauliflower - Caulini Wombok YELLOW Ginger - Galangal - Turmeric Lemongrass Sweetcorn Patty pan squash ORANGE Carrot Sweet potato Butternut squash - Spaghetti squash Pumpkin RED Tomato - Tomatillo Radish Red capsicum Rhubarb Chilli PURPLE Turnip - Swede/Rutabaga Beetroot - Golden beet Radicchio - Endive Globe artichoke Eggplant BROWN Onion - Red onion - Shallot Potato Jerusalem artichoke Yams & tubers Mushrooms - Truffles DARK GREEN Spinach - Silverbeet & chard - Warrigal greens Rocket - Nettle Herbs Kale & cavolo nero Broccoli - Chinese broccoli - Broccolini Zucchini - Zucchini flowers Cucumber Beans - Bean shoots Okra LIGHT GREEN Leek - Spring onion Asparagus Celery - Celtuce Lettuce - Watercress Bok choy Brussels sprouts Peas & snow peas Cabbage Avocado - Bitter melon Take stock, make stock Epilogue Books you'll love Index

Alice Zaslavsky is a fresh voice in food, with a bright, inclusive tone that brings people into the kitchen and invites them to stay. Her modern, accessible approach to cooking has been honed through a career that spans champion food judge, critic, writer, television host and food literacy advocate. Alice is also the creator of Phenomenom, a digital toolbox that helps teachers slip more serves of veg into the curriculum.

Reviews for In Praise of Veg: A Modern Kitchen Companion

'Alice Zaslavsky is a force of nature!' Nigella Lawson 'The Stephanie Alexander for the future. The kind of book everyone needs on their shelf.' Max Brearley, delicious 'This is the most beautiful book I own.' Emelia Jackson, MasterChef All Stars winner 'The book is a marvel, and dare I say, an instant classic.' Dan Stock, Herald Sun 'A weekly regular on TV, Radio and in Print Alice Zaslavsky is an intelligent, fresh young voice in Australian food.' Matt Preston: Host/Mentor/Judge/MasterChef (Network 10), Plate of Origin (Channel Seven) and others 'Alice is probably the nicest grownup I've ever met.' Tess, Age 9 'You're as mad as a cut snake.' Marlene, Age 80: ABC News Breakfast viewer 'Alice was MC for the Estrella Damm Gastronomy Congress held in Melbourne during the World's 50 Best Restaurant awards. Alice was outstanding as MC, especially to be able to hold a crowd and keep them entertained and interested for five hours straight.' Sarah Wilson: Brand Manager, Asahi Premium Beverages 'Alice is one in a million. As host of high profile culinary events and panels, her ability to get under the skin of a topic and conversation with her in-depth industry knowledge and research to unearth nuggets of gold, to pull you in, to re-assure and guide talent, to read an audience is second to none. A quick thinker, sassy and polished, Alice has a unique, warm and personable on-stage delivery that is impeccable.' Katrina King: Event Director, Gourmet Escape 'Alice is a total joy to work with. Her genuine enthusiasm flows through every aspect of her approach to projects, bringing a contagious positive energy to the creative process. Alice's imagination and integrity is a winning combination, and I'm always excited to see what her next project will be.' Daniel Coghla: Digital Manager, Melbourne Theatre Company 'Sans microphone and without notes, Alice held two hundred and fifty children in the palm of her hand. We understand that success comes from treating ourselves well, however; we were reminded by Alice Zaslavsky today that if we want to be winners in life it's also about how we treat others along the way.' Sue Fish: Teacher - Librarian, Coorparoo State School 'Not only is Alice so genuinely passionate about food, but her ability to engage people young and old is nothing short of remarkable. Our audiences just love her. Her infectious personality and creativity is plain to see, but what makes Alice unique to us is an ability to understand our objectives and translate the business speak into meaningful and engaging communications. That's what makes us want to work with her again and again!' Amanda Menegazzo: Food Comms Manager, Dairy Australia


  • Long-listed for Best Illustrated Non-fiction 2021 (Australia)
  • Long-listed for Illustrated Book of the Year 2021 (Australia)
  • Long-listed for Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)
  • Short-listed for ABIA Awards 2021 (Australia)
  • Short-listed for Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)
  • Winner of Indie Book Awards 2021 (Australia)

See Also