FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Ignite the Stars (#1 Ignite the Stars)

Maura Milan

$16.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Albert Whitman & Company
03 September 2019
Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Science fiction (Children's&YA); School stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's&YA); Future Society; Space Opera; Military; Young Adult Science Fiction; Pirates
Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.

A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ia's age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.

Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealth's military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintances-including Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knives-cause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealth's clutches before these bonds deepen?

In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventure-perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles-debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.
By:   Maura Milan
Imprint:   Albert Whitman & Company
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 139mm
ISBN:   9780807536278
ISBN 10:   080753627X
Series:   Ignite the Stars
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   03 September 2019
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 17 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Maura Milan received her BA in Film Production from USC's School of Cinema-Television and currently lives in Los Angeles, where she works in video production. Ignite the Stars is her first novel.

Reviews for Ignite the Stars (#1 Ignite the Stars)

Milan's world building is delectably detailed, with fantastic futuristic technology and terminology that make her epic sci fi universe uniquely vivid and nuanced. Despite its otherworldly setting, Milan's captivating debut has a compelling real-world quality that shines through her well-crafted characters and their fight for social justice. I can't wait to read what happens next! --Romina Russell, New York Times bestselling author of the ZODIAC series Milan makes a solid debut with this novel of space pirates, governmental empires, simmering teen rebellion, and questions about whether a person is truly all good or bad. --Booklist Milan is excellent at establishing relatable, complex characters. The action-packed sequences, with spaceship battles and academic competition, are so engaging, teens won't be able to put the book down. A strong first book in a sure-to-be successful science fiction series. --School Library Journal Get ready to meet Ia, a take-no-prisoners heroine who stole my heart from page one, and kept me cheering until the very end. Treat yourself to this book! --Kass Morgan, New York Times bestselling author of The 100 series Fast-paced and gripping--a stellar opening to a new sci-fi adventure series focused on social justice. --Kirkus Reviews The 2019 Hal Clement Notable Young Adult Books List


See Also