PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

I Shot the Devil

Ruth McIver

Double Rewards
$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Hachette Australia
27 April 2022
Double Reward Points
More info

Says Adrian McKinty (The Chain; Sean Duffy series)
'An incredible thriller that kept me up reading. Intense. Wickedly smart.'

Says Dervla McTiernan (The Ruin; The Scholar; The Good Turn)
'One of the freshest debuts to come along in a long time. A tense thriller shot through with moments of unnerving darkness. A clever, compelling read.'

ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- Ruth McIver's novel won the Richell Prize 2018 for emerging writers and the writing is of such quality and depth. The scenario is of a young journalist revisiting a traumatic part of her life for an article she's been convinced by her editor to write. In this dark part of her life, as a teenager, she was in the fold with wayward friends in a fug of drugs, bad sex and heavy metal that ended in a climactic murder that scandalised the nation. The media at the time spun stories of satanism and the novel is an unsettling journey towards knowing what really happened on that night. Overall, this novel masterfully manages to convey a feeling of danger, menace and unease, as if we are reading a gruesome true-life suburban tragedy. Craig Kirchner 



I used to think that I'd escaped Southport . . .

Now I realised, Southport had been coming for me all this time.

Erin Sloane was sixteen when high school senior Andre Villiers was murdered by his friends. They were her friends, too, led by the intense, charismatic Ricky Hell. Five people went into West Cypress Woods the night Andre was murdered. Only three came out.

Ativan, alcohol and distance had dimmed Erin's memories of that time. But nearly twenty years later, an ageing father will bring her home. Now a journalist, she is asked to write a story about the Southport Three and the thrill-kill murder that electrified the country. Erin's investigation propels her closer and closer to a terrifying truth. And closer and closer to danger.

An unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost, I SHOT THE DEVIL is a taut, page-turning debut novel from an electrifying new talent.

'a powder-keg with a slow burning fuse . . . perfectly balanced and terrifically twisting, I Shot the Devil is for fans of Alex Marwood, Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn' Books+Publishing

'I Shot the Devil is a taut, page-turning thriller and an unforgettable story of murder, trauma and childhoods lost' Australian Women's Weekly

'The Satanic Panic of the 80s and 90s forms an intriguing backdrop to this buzzy crime thriller' The West Australian 'a slick, atmospheric thriller' Sunday Times

'I loved this book . . . I can see David Lynch reading this up in Mulholland Drive' Brendan Cowell

 I shot the devil by ruth mciver


By:  
Imprint:   Hachette Australia
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 132mm,  Spine: 22mm
Weight:   250g
ISBN:   9780733648953
ISBN 10:   0733648959
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Ruth McIver recently completed her PhD in the field of true crime inspired fiction with Curtin University. Her first novel, Nothing Gold, was runner up in the inaugural Banjo Prize (2018) and was one of seven novels selected to be pitched at Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival (2014). Ruth's novel-in-verse, The Sunset Club (2014), is a DIY publication that was highly commended in the Anne Elder category by the FAW (Fellowship of Australian Writers). I Shot the Devil won the 2018 Richell Prize for Emerging Writers.

See Also