Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
House of Gold
— —
Natasha Solomons
House of Gold by Natasha Solomons at Abbey's Bookshop,

House of Gold

Natasha Solomons


9780099510659

Windmill Books


Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Historical fiction


Paperback

432 pages

$19.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Perfect for fans of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE and A GENTLEMAN IN MOSCOW 'This has everything - engaging characters, a thrilling story and beautiful scenery' KATIE FFORDE

The start of a war. The end of a dynasty.

VIENNA, 1911. Greta Goldbaum has always dreamed of being free to choose her own life's path, but the Goldbaum family, one of the wealthiest in the world, has different expectations. United across Europe, Goldbaum men are bankers, while Goldbaum women marry Goldbaum men to produce Goldbaum children.

So when Greta is sent to England to marry Albert, a distant cousin she has never met, the two form an instant dislike for one another. Defiant and lonely, Greta longs for a connection and a place to call her own. When Albert's mother gives Greta a garden, things begin to change.

But just as she begins to taste an unexpected happiness, the Great War breaks out, threatening to tear everything away. For the first time in two hundred years, the family will find themselves on opposing sides. How will Greta choose between the family she's created and the one she was forced to leave behind?

By:   Natasha Solomons
Imprint:   Windmill Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   298g
ISBN:   9780099510659
ISBN 10:   0099510650
Pages:   432
Publication Date:   June 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Natasha Solomons is the author of the internationally bestselling novels Mr Rosenblum's List, The Novel in the Viola, which was chosen for the Richard & Judy Book Club, and The Gallery of Vanished Husbands. Natasha lives in Dorset with her son, daughter and her husband, the children's author, David Solomons with whom she also writes screenplays. Her novels have been translated into 16 languages. When not writing in the studio, Natasha can usually be found in her garden.


Solomons has a gift for constructing a well-paced narrative filled with surprises * The Observer * Delightful and involving ... rich in atmosphere and character * Woman & Home * Natasha Solomons brilliantly sets the scene... A compelling read full of lavish detail, undercut by the realities of war and what it means to be Jewish in an anti-Semitic world * Sunday Express *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.