MARCH'S BIG RELEASES TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Homesick

Stories

Nino Cipri

$33.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

DZANC BOOKS
15 October 2019
Dark, irreverent, and truly innovative, the speculative stories in Homesick meditate on the theme of home and our estrangement from it, and what happens when the familiar suddenly shifts into the uncanny. In stories that foreground queer relationships and transgender or nonbinary characters, Cipri delivers the origin story for a superhero team comp
By:   Nino Cipri
Imprint:   DZANC BOOKS
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 216mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 18mm
Weight:   272g
ISBN:   9781945814952
ISBN 10:   1945814950
Pages:   216
Publication Date:   15 October 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Nino Cipri is a queer and trans/nonbinary writer, editor, and educator. A longtime resident of Chicago, they are a graduate of the Clarion Writers' Workshop and now an MFA candidate at the University of Kansas. Nino's fiction and essays have been published by dozens of different venues, including Daily Science Fiction, Fireside Fiction, Nightmare Magazine, Interfiction, Tor.com, and more. Nino has also written plays, screenplays, and radio features; performed as a dancer, actor, and puppeteer; and worked as a stagehand, bookseller, bike mechanic, and labor organizer. One time, an angry person on the internet called Nino a verbal terrorist, which was pretty funny.

Reviews for Homesick: Stories

It's hard for my to wrap my mind around how, exactly, a book can be so simultaneously scary and sweet, terrifying and tender. In both individual stories, and throughout the whole collection, Nino Cipri traverses a dizzying range of emotional and imaginative territory. These are high-concept stories--featuring time travel, hauntings, and some very scary little girls--but they always remain rooted in the reality of human feeling. Cipri is one of our most imaginative and insightful new writers, and this is a genuinely brilliant book. --Kristen Roupenian, author of Cat Person and You Know You Want This Nino Cipri's Homesick is the best story collection I've read in ages. Every one of these short stories is a tiny reality bomb, delightfully demolishing my expectations while opening up passageways to places I'd never been before. Equal parts queer and surreal, these tales will captivate your heart while keeping you guessing and wondering. A must for fans of Kelly Link and Justin Chin. --Charlie Jane Anders, author of The City in the Middle of the Night


  • Commended for Tiptree Honor List 2015 (United States)
  • Commended for Tiptree Honor List 2016 (United States)

See Also