Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Harriman vs. Hill

Wall Street's Great Railroad War

Larry Haeg



Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?


University of Minnesota Press
01 October 2013
In 1901, the Northern Pacific was an unlikely prize: a twice-bankrupt construction of the federal government, it was a two-bit railroad (literally--five years back, its stock traded for twenty-five cents a share). But it was also a key to connecting eastern markets through Chicago to the rising West. Two titans of American railroads set sights on it: James J. Hill, head of the Great Northern and largest individual shareholder of the Northern Pacific, and Edward Harriman, head of the Union Pacific and the Southern Pacific. The subsequent contest was unprecedented in the history of American enterprise, pitting not only Hill against Harriman but also Big Oil against Big Steel and J. P. Morgan against the Rockefellers, with a supporting cast of enough wealthy investors to fill the ballroom of the Waldorf Astoria.
By:   Larry Haeg
Imprint:   University of Minnesota Press
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 229mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 51mm
Weight:   667g
ISBN:   9780816683642
ISBN 10:   0816683646
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   01 October 2013
Audience:   General/trade ,  Professional and scholarly ,  ELT Advanced ,  Undergraduate
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Larry Haeg is former executive vice president of corporate communications for Wells Fargo & Company and a former broadcast journalist.

Reviews for Harriman vs. Hill: Wall Street's Great Railroad War

I first read about the Northern Pacific Corner when I was ten years old. When I opened my office on January 1, 1962, I put on the wall a framed copy of the New York Times of May 10, 1901, describing the fateful prior day. Larry Haeg now tells the full story, and I enjoyed every word of it.--Warren Buffett

  • Commended for Minnesota Book Award (Nonfiction) 2014
  • Commended for Society of Midland Authors Award (Adult Nonfiction) 2014

See Also