SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Girl Serpent Thorn

Melissa Bashardoust

$17.99

Paperback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

Hodder & Stoughton
30 March 2021
SOMETIMES THE PRINCESS IS THE MONSTER From the author of Girls Made of Snow and Glass, this captivating and utterly original Persian-inspired fairy tale about a girl cursed to be poisonous to the touch is perfect for fans of Natasha Ngan and Naomi Novik.

'Monstrously beautiful and enchanting' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand There was and there was not, as all stories begin, a princess cursed to be poisonous to the touch. But for Soraya, who has lived her life hidden away from everyone, apart from her family, safe only in her gardens, it's not just a story.

As the day of her twin brother's wedding approaches, Soraya must decide if she's willing to step outside of the shadows for the first time. Below in the dungeon is a demon who holds knowledge that she craves, the answer to her freedom. And above is a young man who isn't afraid of her, whose eyes linger not with fear, but with an understanding of who she is beneath the poison.

Soraya thought she knew her place in the world, but when her choices lead to consequences she never imagined, she begins to question who she is and who she is becoming . . . human or demon.

Princess or monster.
By:   Melissa Bashardoust
Imprint:   Hodder & Stoughton
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   240g
ISBN:   9781529379099
ISBN 10:   1529379091
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   30 March 2021
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Melissa Bashardoust received her degree in English from the University of California, Berkeley, where she rediscovered her love for creative writing, children's literature, and fairy tales and their retellings. She currently lives in Southern California with a cat named Alice and more copies of Jane Eyre than she probably needs. Melissa is the author of Girls Made of Snow and Glass and Girl, Serpent, Thorn.

Reviews for Girl Serpent Thorn

Girl, Serpent, Thorn is a fairy tale for those readers looking for a story that is simultaneously respectful of the genre's central tenets and also reaching for something new, exciting and equitable. This one's a solid read that should attract the eyes of young adults and older readers alike * Hollywood Soapbox * Girl, Serpent, Thorn takes your expectations of a fairy tale and turns them on their head, creating an elaborate, unconventional and fascinating story, complete with heroes who are morally questionable and villains who you'll fall in love with * SciFinow * Girl, Serpent, Thorn balances a raw, human core of emotion with a fast-moving, intriguing plot that draws fresh inspiration from Iranian culture past and present * Tor.com * Brilliantly imagined . . . An enthralling fantasy with broad appeal, lyrical prose and incredible worldbuilding * Modern Mrs Darcy * Truly unforgettable. You'll definitely want to have a copy of this on your shelf . . . I loved this story * The Nerd Daily * A deliciously lush fairy tale of a novel. I was swept away by Bashardoust's prose . . . At its heart, it's a book about a girl who may be monstrous claiming her own power, filled with twists and a fascinating queer romance that stole my own heart. * Patrice Caldwell, editor of A Phoenix First Must Burn: Sixteen Stories of Black Girl Magic, Resistance, and Hope * Like a jeweled fairy tale, Girl, Serpent, Thorn glitters with twisty revelations, curses and dangerous transformations, magic and monsters and love - and at its heart, a girl who can kill with a touch. A thrilling, moving story of what it means to come into one's own power, this book is utterly captivating * Gita Trelease, author of Enchantee * Girl, Serpent, Thorn is a tale a rose might tell, lushly perfumed and lined with thorns in all the right places. With complex women, Persian demons, a gorgeously twisting narrative, and the age-old question of what it means to be a monster, it had me eagerly flipping pages until the very end. I only wish there were more! * Shveta Thakrar, author of Star Daughter * This is a gorgeously written book set in a beautiful and dangerous world. I loved the vividness of the story, and the way Bashardoust makes stories matter in this book. I was captivated from the beginning, and absolutely thrilled with the end. Watching Soraya come into her own as a character was a delight * Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians * Every passage is a fine cut gem, each facet brilliantly rendered to create a stunningly crafted fairytale about a girl and monsters and a girl who is also a monster. I truly loved this book. * Emily Duncan, author of Wicked Saints * Gorgeously written and quietly powerful, Bashardoust's latest is an enthralling tale of family, monsters, and the things we do for love * S. A. Chakraborty, author of City of Brass * Monstrously beautiful and enchanting, Girl, Serpent, Thorn is a fairytale for anyone who has ever feared the poison in their own heart. I loved this queer, subversive, lyrical and deeply affirming book * Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand *


See Also