Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items



We can order this in for you
How long will it take?


Oxford University Press
01 November 2018
Nigel Hitchin is one of the world's foremost figures in the fields of differential and algebraic geometry and their relations with mathematical physics, and he has been Savilian Professor of Geometry at Oxford since 1997. Geometry and Physics: A Festschrift in honour of Nigel Hitchin contain the proceedings of the conferences held in September 2016 in Aarhus, Oxford, and Madrid to mark Nigel Hitchin's 70th birthday, and to honour his far-reaching contributions to geometry and mathematical physics.

These texts contain 29 articles by contributors to the conference and other distinguished mathematicians working in related areas, including three Fields Medallists. The articles cover a broad range of topics in differential, algebraic and symplectic geometry, and also in mathematical physics. These volumes will be of interest to researchers and graduate students in geometry and mathematical physics.
Edited by:   Jorgen Ellegaard Andersen (Professor of Mathematics Professor of Mathematics Aarhus University), Andrew Dancer (Professor of Mathematics, Professor of Mathematics, Mathematical Institute, Oxford University), Oscar Garcia-Prada (CSIC Research Professor, CSIC Research Professor, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas)
Imprint:   Oxford University Press
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 237mm,  Width: 163mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   704g
ISBN:   9780198802020
ISBN 10:   0198802021
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   01 November 2018
Audience:   College/higher education ,  Further / Higher Education
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
14: David Baraglia (University of Adelaide), Indranil Biswas (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), Laura Schaposnik (University Illinois at Chicago): Brauer group of moduli of Higgs bundles and connections 15: Stefan Behrens (Utrecht University), Gil Cavalcanti (Utrecht University), Ralph Klaasse (Utrecht University): Classification of boundary Lefschetz fibrations. 16: Olivier Biquard (Ecole Normale Superieure): SL(IF, R), Higgs bundles, and quantization 17: Philip Boalch (Universite Paris-Sud): Wild character varieties, meromorphic Hitchin systems and Dynkin diagrams 18: Steven Bradlow (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Oscar Garcia-Prada (Institute of Mathematical Sciences), Peter Gothen (University of Porto), Jochen Heinloth (University of Duisburg): Irreducibility of moduli of semistable chains and applications to U(p,q)-bundles 19: Brian Collier (University of Maryland): Various generalisations and deformations of PSL(2,R) surface group representations and their Higgs bundles 20: Xenia de la Ossa (University of Oxford), Magdalena Larfors (Uppsala University), Eirek Svanes (Sorbonne University, Lagrange Institute): Restrictions of heterotic G 2 structures and instanton connections 21: Giovanni Forni and William Goldman (University of Maryland): Mixing Flows on Moduli Spaces of Flat Bundles over Surfaces 22: Oscar Garcia-Prada (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Spain), Sundararaman Ramanan (Chennai Mathematical Institute): Involutions of rank 2 Higgs bundle moduli spaces 23: Marco Gualtieri (University of Toronto): Generalised Kahler metrics from Hamiltonian deformations 24: Samuel Grushevsky (Mathematics Department, Stony Brook University), Klaus Hulek (, Leibniz University at Hannover), Orsola Tommasi (Chalmers University of Technology and the University of Gothenburg), Mathieu Dutour Sikiric (Rudjer Boskovi? Institute): Stable Betti numbers of (partial) toroidal compactifications of the moduli space of Abelian varieties 25: Jacques Hurtubise (, McGill University), Lisa Jeffrey (University of Toronto), Steven Rayan (University of Saskatchewan), Paul Selick (University of Toronto), Jonathan Weitsman (Northeastern University): Spectral curves for the triple reduced product of coadjoint orbits for SU(3) 26: Shigefumi Mori (Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University), Yuri Prokhorov (Steklov Mathematical Institute of Russian Academy of Sciences): Threefold extremal contractions of type (II A); part II 27: Ignasi Mundet i Riera (Facultat de Matematiques i Informatica, Universitat de Barcelona): Parabolic Higgs bundles for real reductive Lie groups: a very basic introduction 28: Brent Pym (University of Edinburgh), Travis Schedler (Imperial College London): Holonomic Poisson manifolds and deformations of elliptic algebras 29: Carlos Simpson (Universite Cote d'Azur, CNRS): An explicit view of the Hitchin fibration on the Betti side for P1 minus 5 points

Jorgen Ellegaard Andersen obtained a DPhil in Mathematics from University of Oxford in 1992 and held assistant professor positions at University of California Berkeley and Aarhus University as well as general memberships at MSRI before obtaining a tenured position at Aarhus University in 1997. After being Clay Professor at University of California Berkeley, he became Professor of Mathematics at Aarhus University and he currently holds a Distinguished Visiting Professorship at California Institute of Technology. He is also Director of the Danish National Research Foundation Center of Excellence, Center for Quantum Geometry of Moduli Spaces (QGM) at Aarhus University. Andrew Dancer took the degrees of BA and DPhil at Oxford University, and held postdoctoral fellowships at Cambridge, the Max-Planck-Institut, and IHES, before becoming a faculty member at McMaster University in Canada. He is now Professor of Mathematics at Oxford University and a Fellow of Jesus College. Oscar Garcia-Prada is a CSIC Research Professor at Instituto de Ciencias Matematicas ICMAT, Madrid. He obtained a D.Phil. in Mathematics at the University of Oxford in 1991, and had postdoctoral appointments at Institut des Hautes Etudes Scientific (Paris), University of California at Berkeley, and University of Paris-Sud, before holding positions at University Autonoma of Madrid and Ecole Polytechnique (Paris). In 2002 he joined the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC).

See Also