LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Gallant

V E Schwab

$39.99

Hardback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

English
Titan Books Ltd
01 June 2022
Number one New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world — full of life — a world that mirrors it — haunted by death — and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal — which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home — to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant — but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unravelled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

By:  
Imprint:   Titan Books Ltd
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm, 
ISBN:   9781785658686
ISBN 10:   1785658689
Pages:   448
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

V.E. Schwab is the No.1 New York Times bestselling author of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, Vicious, The Near Witch and the Shades of Magic series, which was described as a classic work of fantasy by Deborah Harkness. It was one of Waterstones' Best Fantasy Books of 2015, The Guardian's Best Science Fiction novels, and a Telegraph choice. The Independent has called her The natural successor to Diana Wynne Jones. She lives between Nashville, France and Edinburgh.

Reviews for Gallant

"""A haunting and beautifully tilled garden of darkness, V. E. Schwab's Gallant unearths the shadows—webs of family history, the price of deadly bargains, and the secrets we guard—plunging readers into a triumphant tale that can't be missed."" -- Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times–bestselling author “A deliciously dark and haunted mystery reminiscent of Crimson Peak, with atmosphere and tension in spades. This is classic V. E. Schwab, and a book you won’t want to miss.” — Booktopia “Seeking a place to call home, Olivia uncovers long-buried secrets after arriving at Gallant. . . . Olivia unravels the ominous secrets of both her family and the house, where ghouls lurk around every corner and the dilapidated garden gate calls to her. The evolving relationships between Olivia and her found family shine, and themes of freedom, the self, and belonging are well depicted. . . . The gripping writing and effective incorporation of horror elements, including haunting, inky artwork, are satisfyingly spine-tingling."" -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “Evocative prose, eerie [black and white] artwork by Šumberac, and superbly rendered characters . . . elevate this affective, bone-chilling standalone from Schwab, which fuses Shirley Jackson’s gothic horror sensibilities with the warmth and dark whimsy of Neil Gaiman.” -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) PRAISE FOR V.E. SCHWAB “SCHWAB TELLS A SWASHBUCKLING TALE WITH LIP-SMACKING GUSTO AND INFECTIOUS VERVE” THE GUARDIAN “SMART, FUNNY AND SEXY… THE NATURAL SUCCESSOR TO DIANA WYNNE JONES” INDEPENDENT “THESE RICH, LIFELIKE CHARACTERS DRAW THE READER IN AND MAKE THIS WELL-REALIZED FANTASY IMPOSSIBLE TO PUT DOWN” KIRKUS “IT’S A MULTIPLE SPLIT-SCREEN ADVENTURE, WITH AN ENGAGING HERO/HEROINE PAIR AT ITS CENTER” THE WALL STREET JOURNAL ON A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC “THIS IS HOW FANTASY SHOULD BE DONE” PUBLISHERS WEEKLY “FASCINATING, WELL DEVELOPED CHARACTERS AND WELL EXCELLENT WORLDBUILDING” SF SIGNAL “REMINISCENT OF NEIL GAIMAN AND DIANA WYNNE JONES” WE LOVE THIS BOOK “SNAPPY DIALOGUE, LIVELY CHARACTERS AND EXCITINGLY WRITTEN DERRING-DO” SFX “AS TWISTY-TURNY, DARK AND GORGEOUS AS THE (MULTIPLE) LONDONS… I LOVED IT!” STEVEN BRUST “A CLASSIC WORK OF FANTASY… THIS IS A BOOK TO TREASURE” DEBORAH HARKNESS “A SHARP, ELEGANT FANTASY THRILLER” DELIA SHERMAN “[A] COMPELLING TALE OF ENCHANTMENT AND ADVENTURE” MARIE BRENNAN “A MULTIVERSAL ROLLER-COASTER… I NEED ANOTHER COPY” MAX GLADSTONE “A SPELLBINDING MIX OF FANTASY AND EXCITING INTRIGUE THAT CAPTIVATES THE READER” STARBURST “A WELCOME RETURN TO AN IRRESITABLE FANTASY WORLD” BARNES AND NOBLE “I WAS UNABLE TO PUT IT DOWN” FANTASY BOOK REVIEW “A CAPTIVATING WORLD FULL OF DEFTLY DEFINED CHARACTERS” THE MIDNIGHT GARDEN “EXCELLENT PROSE, EXQUISITE WORLD-BUILDING” JO’S BOOK BLOG REVIEW “FANTASTIC” THE BOOK SMUGGLERS “BUILDS A COMPELLING PORTRAIT OF LIFE IN A FANTASY WORLD” NPR BOOKS “MAGICAL AND TANTALISING” HEARTFULLOFBOOKS “EXHILERATING” IO9.COM “FLAWLESSLY CONSTRUCTED AND PACED” SPECULATIVE HERALD “MODERN FANTASY AT ITS PEAK” NY JOUURNAL OF BOOKS “READERS ARE TREATED TO SOMETHING GREAT” SFF WORLD “WILL LEAVE YOU COMPLETELY BREATHLESS” THEREWEREBOOKSINVOLVED (FIVE STARS) “PERFECTLY PACED AND ENGROSSING… MORE PLEASE!” THE ELOQUENT PAGE “AN AMAZING FEAT WITH MAGIC, MULTIPLE UNIVERSES AND A VERY ENGAGING PLOT” THE BOOK PLANK “SUPERB. IT’S SMART, GRIPPING, AND ELEGANTLY CONCEIVED” OPEN LETTERS MONTHLY “OFTEN BEAUTIFUL AND ALWAYS GENEROUS IN BOTH WORLD-BUILDING AND EYE FOR DETAIL” IDIGITAL TIMES “INTRICATE PLOTTING; COMPLEX; MULTI-LAYERED CHARACTERS; INCREDIBLE WORLD-BUILDING” FLYLEAF REVIEW “A FASCINATING SET OF WORLDS THAT WE WILL HOPEFULLY BE ABLE TO REVISIT” NOT YET READ “I FELL IN LOVE WITH ITS CHARACTERS, ITS WORLD, AND EVERY BIT OF ITS BEAUTIFUL PROSE” UTTERLY BOOKISH"


See Also