FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Fortuna (#1 Nova Vita Protocol)

Kristyn Merbeth

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orbit Books
11 February 2020
Science fiction; Space opera; Aliens; First Contact; Space Opera; Space Exploration
Scorpia Kaiser has always stood in Corvus's shadow until the day her older brother abandons their family to participate in a profitless war. However, becoming the heir to her mother's smuggling operation is not an easy transition for the always rebellious, usually reckless, and occasionally drunk pilot of the Fortuna, an aging cargo ship and the only home Scorpia has ever known.

But when a deal turns deadly and Corvus returns from the war, Scorpia's plans to take over the family business are interrupted, and the Kaiser siblings are forced to make a choice: take responsibility for their family's involvement in a devastating massacre or lay low and hope it blows over.

Too bad Scorpia was never any good at staying out of a fight.

Perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and Catherynne M. Valente, FORTUNA introduces a dazzling new voice in science fiction.
By:   Kristyn Merbeth
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Volume:   1
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 38mm
Weight:   472g
ISBN:   9780316453998
ISBN 10:   0316453994
Series:   Nova Vita Protocol
Pages:   560
Publication Date:   11 February 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Kristyn Merbeth is obsessed with SFF, food, video games, her dog and resides in Tucson, Arizona.

Reviews for Fortuna (#1 Nova Vita Protocol)

It's everything you could ask for in a space opera. --The Arcanist Merbeth's world building is fascinating-five human-settled planets, each distinct and littered with alien technology-but her multifaceted characters and their troubled relationships give this action-packed family drama its heart. A good readalike for Lois McMaster Bujold's Miles Vorkosigan books, John Scalzi's Collapsing Empire (2017), and for those who want a grittier version of Becky Chambers' Wayfarers series. --Booklist High energy, high stakes, and lots of high notes. --Library Journal Merbeth's multiple narrators and plotlines converge beautifully into a suspenseful tale of family. The characters are distinct and grounded, and each interaction is filled with purpose and emotion that brings all of them, regardless of differences, into the fray together. SF fans who have been waiting for a crime family spin on space opera will find nothing but joy in this whirlwind story. --Publishers Weekly The narrative is powered by a cast of deeply developed characters. Scorpia, in particular, is impressively multidimensional . . . . The nonstop action and varying levels of tension make this an unarguable page-turner. --Kirkus Kristyn Merbeth has created a desperate, gritty world in her newest book Fortuna, an epic space opera about the lengths a family will go to survive not only each other, but a world out to kill them . . . . Merbeth is a voice to watch in space opera! --K. B. Wagers, author of There Before the Chaos


See Also