PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Scribe Publications
05 May 2022
A multi-award winning Italian debut, from a bold new voice in contemporary queer literature.

Jonathan is 31 years old, living in Milan with his boyfriend of three years and their two Devon Rex cats when, on a day like any other, he gets a fever. But unlike most, this fever doesn't go away; it's constant, low-level, and exhausting. After spending weeks Googling his symptoms and documenting his illness, he finally sees a doctor. A series of blood tests, anxious visits to hospitals, and repeated misdiagnoses ensue, until his doctor suggests an HIV test, and the truth is finally revealed- Jonathan is HIV-positive.

As Jonathan comes to terms with what this diagnosis will mean for him, his future, and his relationships, he also takes the reader back in time, in search of his history, to the suburbs where he grew up, and from which he feels he has escaped- Rozzano, the ghetto of Milan, and of Italy's north. In the vein of Edouard Louis and Virginie Despentes, Fever is at once a deeply personal story and a searing examination of class, poverty, prejudice, and opportunity in modern Europe.

'Jagged and tender, forthright and sly, this book felt so committed to its fierce, wise vision of the joys and terrors of having a body and living a life. It tells us real things, in a rich voice, with force and passion and insight. I couldn't put it down.' -Ronnie Scott, author of The Adversary

'Bazzi captures the longing, the wounds, and the joys of growing up queer and working class in 1980s Milan - and what it means to recalibrate your world amid the aftershocks of a life-changing diagnosis. I read it in a single sitting.' -Jennifer Down, author of Bodies of Light
By:  
Imprint:   Scribe Publications
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 207mm,  Width: 137mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   368g
ISBN:   9781922310903
ISBN 10:   1922310905
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jonathan Bazzi (Author) Jonathan Bazzi was born in Milan in 1985. They grew up in Rozzano, on the extreme southern outskirts of the city. They studied philosophy and graduated with a thesis on symbolic theology in Edith Stein. Passionate about women's literary tradition and gender issues, Jonathan has collaborated with various newspapers and magazines, including Gay.it, Vice, The Vision, and Il Fatto.it. Fever is their first novel. Alice Whitmore (Translator) Alice Whitmore is a writer and literary translator living on Eastern Maar country. Her translation of Mariana Dim pulos's Imminence was awarded the 2021 NSW Premier's Translation Prize. She is the translations editor at Cordite Poetry Review and an associate editor at Giramondo.

See Also