Welcome to our new site MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Do Not Feed the Bear

Rachel Elliott

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Headline
06 August 2019
Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ---- Sydney is a freerunner, someone who practises parkour - and by the end of the novel we realise why. She is always running away in a personal capacity as well as a physical one, and every year she secretly goes back to the seaside town that once meant so much to her family before her mother died. When something goes wrong on her latest visit, all sorts of secrets are ripped open, not just in her life but in the lives of the community who witnessed her presence. As the narrative flows back and forth, the characters come to realise there is more than one way to escape…

A sweet and rewarding novel that is ultimately feel-good without being sentimental or sickly. And it has a particularly delightful dog, as well! Highly, unreservedly recommended. Lindy Jones

------

A life-affirming novel of love, loss and letting go - for readers of ELEANOR OLIPHANT, THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT On her forty-seventh birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump...

Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was ten years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself.

DO NOT FEED THE BEAR is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving.
By:   Rachel Elliott
Imprint:   Headline
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 150mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   431g
ISBN:   9781472259431
ISBN 10:   1472259432
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   06 August 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Rachel Elliott is the author of WHISPERS THROUGH A MEGAPHONE, long-listed for the Bailey's Women's Prize in 2016. She is also a practising psychotherapist, and lives in Bath.

Reviews for Do Not Feed the Bear

Rachel Elliot is such a beguiling and astute storyteller * Sarah Winman * An astonishingly good novel about grief and its shadowy partner, guilt. Mysterious, uplifting, and often very funny, it had me totally gripped from start to finish * Deborah Moggach * A slow-burn, quirky, rewarding story about a group of bereft people (and dogs) who find each other in unexpected ways * Julie Cohen *


See Also