Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Death in a Desert Land (#3 Agatha Christie)
— —
Andrew Wilson
Death in a Desert Land (#3 Agatha Christie) by Andrew Wilson at Abbey's Bookshop,

Death in a Desert Land (#3 Agatha Christie)

Andrew Wilson


9781471173486

SIMON451


Fiction & Literature;
Historical mysteries;
Thriller & suspense;
Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime


Paperback

$29.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Double Reward Points
More info

'Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining - one feels Agatha Christie would have been delighted' - LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of The Hunting Party I'm Mrs Christie. I think you are expecting me...

Baghdad, 1928. Agatha leaves England for the far-flung destination, determined to investigate an unresolved mystery: two year ago, the explorer and the writer Gertrude Bell died there from a drugs overdose. At the time, the authorities believed that Bell had taken her own life, but a letter now unearthed reveals she was afraid someone wants to kill her...

In her letter, Bell suggests that if she were to die the best place to look for her murderer would be Ur, the archaeological site in ancient Mesopotamia famous for its Great Death Pit.

But as Agatha stealthily begins to look into the death of Gertrude Bell, she soon discovers the mission is not without its risks. And she has to use all her skills to try and outwit a killer who is determined to stay hidden among the desert sands...

'A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series. Fizzy with charm yet edge with menace, Andrew Wilson's Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud' A. J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 'Beautifully written. Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side' JANE CORRY 'An affectionate homage to Agatha Christie's desert dramas with a cheeky nod to Paul Bowles' The Sheltering Sky. A superior blend of fact and fiction, it's a hugely entertaining riot of red herrings, poisonous plots and boiling passions under the white hot desert sun. A must for connoisseurs of Golden Age crime fiction' SEAN O'CONNOR 'Five stars . . . Brilliantly plotted, stylishly written. A treat!' AMANDA CRAIG 'Wilson cleverly riffs on one of Christie's own novels en route to a crafty and satisfying solution. Wilson strikes gold again' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 'Fans of Agatha Christie and Sophie Hannah will welcome this latest in Wilson's series starring Christie as an amateur sleuth . . . the enjoyably exasperating characters involved in this well-executed mystery are a treat, too' BOOKLIST Praise for Andrew Wilson:

'Wilson not only knows his subject but he deftly moves the tale away from mere literary ventriloquism and into darker territory. Great fun, too' - Observer 'Reinvents the story of Agatha Christie'smysterious disappearance with thrilling results' - Guardian

By:   Andrew Wilson
Imprint:   SIMON451
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 25mm
ISBN:   9781471173486
ISBN 10:   1471173488
Publication Date:   August 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.