Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Dark Music

The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

David Lagercrantz Ian Giles



Pre-Order now


Maclehose Press
01 August 2022
A gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB
The launch of a new series inspired by Sherlock Holmes. A murder investigation brings together two unlikely allies in a race to uncover a shadowy international conspiracy.

Professor Hans Rekke: born into a wealthy Stockholm family, world authority on interrogation techniques, capable of vertiginous feats of logic and observation . . . But he might just fall apart when the going gets tough, leading to substance abuse and despair.

Micaela Vargas: community police officer, born to Chilean political refugees in a tough suburb, with two brothers on the shady side of the law.

Vargas feels she has something to prove. She's tenacious and uncompromising, but she needs Rekke's unique mind to help her solve the case. Rekke has it all - wealth, reputation - but also a tendency to throw it all away. He needs Vargas to help him get back on an even keel so he can focus his mind on finding the killer before they're both silenced for good.

Translated from the Swedish by Ian Giles
Translated by:  
Imprint:   Maclehose Press
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   41g
ISBN:   9781529413182
ISBN 10:   1529413184
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Forthcoming

David Lagercrantz was born in 1962, and is an acclaimed author and journalist. In 2015 The Girl in the Spider's Web (2015), his continuation of Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy, became a worldwide bestseller and was made into a film by Sony Pictures (2018). He is the author of the acclaimed and bestselling I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Fall of Man in Wilmslow, and the fifth and sixth books in the Millennium series, The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye (2017) and The Girl Who Lived Twice (2019). Dark Music, the first Rekke and Vargas Investigation, will be published in the UK in 2022.

Reviews for Dark Music: The gripping new thriller from the author of THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB

A must-read . . . Lagercrantz guides us with playful ease * Smalandsposten * One likes Rekke and Vargas - both as partners and as individuals - and that's where David Lagercrantz really captivates the reader * Kulturnytt, Swedish Radio * Very entertaining . . . the depiction of the double act's friendship is finely tuned and poignant * Svenska Dagbladet * I have no choice but to surrender. David Lagercrantz knows his craft * Expressen *

See Also