FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Creatures of Charm and Hunger (#3 Creatures)

Molly Tanzer

$35.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

MISCELLANEOUS
01 June 2020
Fantasy; Cultural & Period Fantasy; Dark Fantasy / Grimdark; Gothic; Occult; Supernatural
The third standalone novel set in Molly Tanzer's magic-infused universe takes readers to World War II era England where two young women are studying witchcraft. Though once inseparable, competition, secrets, and wildly dangerous magic set them at odds and draw them to terrifying ends. In Northern England during World War II, best friends Jane Blackwood and Miriam Cohen are both studying to join the Societe des Eclairees, an international organisation of diabolists. Though once close as sisters, the pressures of their studies and the war build secrets between them that threaten to tear them apart. Miriam learns her parents are suspected of betraying the Societe to the Nazis, and her effort to clear their names sends her on a perilous journey to a source of the enemy's power. Jane, afraid of falling behind the brilliant Miriam, believes her only hope to excel lies in a forbidden and wildly dangerous use of diabolism: creating a demonic familiar. Their hardest lesson will be learning that sometimes there is no villain, there's just the brutal consequences of making terrible choices. AUTHOR: Molly Tanzer is the Sydney J. Bounds and Wonderland Book Award-nominated author of Vermilion (an NPR and io9 Best Book of 2015), A Pretty Mouth, the historical crime novel The Pleasure Merchant, and other works. She lives in Boulder, Colorado.
By:   Molly Tanzer
Imprint:   MISCELLANEOUS
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm, 
ISBN:   9780358065210
ISBN 10:   0358065216
Series:   Creatures
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   01 June 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

MOLLY TANZER is the British Fantasy and Locus Award-nominated author of The Diabolist's Library series: Creatures of Will and Temper, Creatures of Want and Ruin, and Creatures of Charm and Hunger. She's also the author of the weird western Vermilion as well as many critically acclaimed short stories. She resides in Boulder, Colorado.

Reviews for Creatures of Charm and Hunger (#3 Creatures)

A compelling, fun, and thought-provoking story of magical adventure, coming of age, sacrifice, and family, with secrets that add a lingering darkness to the entire tale....an excellent choice for fans of Seanan McGuire, Alma Katsu, and Erin Morgenstern. --Booklist For the YA reader, Booklist has this to say: a perfect choice for teens, especially those who enjoy dark fantasy with detailed worldbuilding. This companion to Tanzer's other two Creatures novels (Creatures of Want and Ruin, 2018, etc.) dives deeper into the diabolists' world and their magical sciences. Familiarity with the previous books is unnecessary to enjoy this well-written, fun, and thoughtful tale of evil Nazi plots, body-snatching behind enemy lines, magical libraries, complicated parental relationships, deep-seated prejudices, and suspicious felines. An enticing genre mashup. Horror, sci-fi, and fantasy readers alike will find something to love and someone to root for. --Kirkus Reviews


See Also