LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Get ready to be swept away. An irresistible YA romantasy – perfect for fans of Alexandra Christo, Sarah Underwood and Shelby Mahurin

Romance. Betrayal. Magic. The YA romantasy debut of 2024.

Mira is a wrecker, one of the seven chosen to swim out and plunder the wrecked ships beyond the Isle of Rosevear. The waves sing to her soul, the call of the sea beckoning her into deeper waters. But Rosevear needs her, and she could never abandon her home. Until one evening when lightning splits the sky and the Watch descend, taking Mira’s father away.

Mira must set off on a journey to win back her father’s freedom. She will encounter two strangers along the way – enigmatic Seth and smouldering Elijah – and learning who to trust will not be easy. When she discovers a dark family secret, buried deep in the ocean, Mira finds that securing her future – and that of her island – will come at a high price . . .

‘A magical tale with a lot of heart’ Alexandra Christo, author of To Kill a Kingdom

‘Brimming with wild magic, adventure and dreamy romance’ Catherine Doyle, co-author of Twin Crowns

‘Greenlaw’s immersive voice and skilful world-building shine’ Adrienne Young, author of Fable

‘An addictive blend of lyrical prose, shimmering magic and whip-sharp pacing’ Laura Steven, author of The Society for Soulless Girls

By:  
Imprint:   Harper Collins
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 35mm
Weight:   340g
ISBN:   9780008642440
ISBN 10:   0008642443
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Rachel Greenlaw grew up in North Cornwall, surrounded by wild moorland. She studied English with Creative Writing at Falmouth University before moving to an island in the middle of the Atlantic, where she lives with her husband and two children. One Christmas Morning is her debut novel.

Reviews for Compass and Blade

‘I flew through each page… Readers will be truly captivated by Mira and her journey to find her father and herself along the way. A magical tale with a lot of heart’ Alexandra Christo, author of To Kill a Kingdom ‘Brimming with wild magic, adventure and dreamy romance, Compass and Blade is a tale to treasure. I was swept away by this enchanting, sea-spun fantasy!’ Catherine Doyle, co-author of Twin Crowns ‘Greenlaw’s immersive voice and skilful world building shine in this YA debut, a feast for fantasy lovers and dreamers alike’ Adrienne Young, author of Fable ‘An addictive blend of lyrical prose, shimmering magic and whip-sharp pacing’ Laura Steven, author of The Society for Soulless Girls ‘A gripping, atmospheric fantasy of saltwater kisses, sharp-edged secrets and the siren call of the deep sea – I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough’ Kika Hatzopoulou, author of Threads that Bind ‘[A] powerful, seafaring adventure, featuring a smart and sassy heroine and an irresistible love story’ The Bookseller, Editor's Choice ‘Secrets and magic abound on this swoon-worthy adventure that’s every bit as addictive as a siren’s song’ M. A. Kuzniar, author of Midnight in Everwood ‘Romantic and full of high-seas action and adventure … Brimming with fantasy and lore’ Gabriela Romero Lacruz, author of The Sun and the Void ‘A tale that will be sure to enchant readers from the very first page. Mira is as fierce as she is brave and empathetic, and her story is utterly unputdownable. A brilliant addition to the young adult fantasy canon’ Ayana Gray, author of Beasts of Prey


See Inside

See Also