Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Google Book Preview
Casting Off by Elizabeth Jane Howard at Abbey's Bookshop,

Casting Off

Elizabeth Jane Howard



Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);


640 pages

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

The final volume of the magnificent family saga, The Cazalet Chronicle The aftermath of war, and the slow dawning of a new era of freedom and opportunity, shape the destinies of the Cazalets in the final volume of this magnificent family saga. Polly, Clary and Louise, now grown up, are ready to discover the truth about the adult world. While Rupert, Hugh and Edward must make the choices that will decide their own - and the family's - future. For the Cazalets, and all those close to them, one end is another beginning... Casting Off is the fourth and final volume of The Cazalet Chronicle. Read from the beginning of the series: The Light Years, Marking Time and Confusion.

By:   Elizabeth Jane Howard
Imprint:   Pan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   New edition
Volume:   v.4
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 39mm
Weight:   458g
ISBN:   9780330344814
ISBN 10:   0330344811
Series:   Cazalet Chronicles
Pages:   640
Publication Date:   November 2013
Recommended Age:   From 18
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Elizabeth Jane Howard is the author of fourteen highly acclaimed novels, most recently Love All. The Cazalet Chronicles - The Light Years, Marking Time, Confusion and Casting Off - have become established as modern classics and were adapted for a major BBC television series. In 2002 Macmillan published her autobiography, Slipstream. In that same year she was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

After The Light Years, Marking Time and Confusion comes this, the fourth and final part of Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicle. The whole is set in the period from 1937 to 1947, this volume taking the story from the immediate aftermath of victory in Europe. This is a story of the end of an era, not a beginning. Characters are changed not simply by events, but by time itself, some inevitably by emerging into adulthood. Painful adjustments are the order of the day - as the cast, from Polly, Clary and Louise to Rupert and Edward, discover. Elizabeth Jane Howard is a writer who, with immense skill, has taken the conventions of the romantic saga and deepened them to provide an unforgettable picture of England changing. (Kirkus UK)

Your cart does not contain any items.