PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Canticle Creek

Adrian Hyland

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Ultimo Press
03 December 2021
'The rural crime fiction wave continues with this brilliant new arid drama.' - Australian Women's Weekly

'The writing is generous and whip-smart, with sentences that will stop readers in their tracks to savour them ... Heart-racing twists propel the novel to its denouement, while the oppressive heat and arid landscape add an extra layer of threat to the unfolding drama.'- Books + Publishing

Two bodies. One long hot summer. A town that will never be the same.

When Adam Lawson's wrecked car is found a kilometre from Daisy Baker's body, the whole town assumes it's an open and shut case. But Jesse Redpath isn't from Canticle Creek. Where she comes from, the truth often hides in plain sight, but only if you know where to look. When Jesse starts to ask awkward questions, she uncovers a town full of contradictions and a cast of characters with dark pasts, secrets to hide and even more to lose.

As the temperature soars, and the ground bakes, the wilderness surrounding Canticle Creek becomes a powderkeg waiting to explode. All it needs is one spark.

A twisty crime thriller set in small town Australia perfect for readers of The Dry and Scrublands.
By:  
Imprint:   Ultimo Press
Country of Publication:   Australia
Edition:   Trade Paperback
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
ISBN:   9781761150036
ISBN 10:   1761150030
Pages:   320
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Adrian Hyland is the award-winning author of Diamond Dove, Gunshot Road and Kinglake-350, which was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award for non-fiction in 2012. His books have been published internationally, including in Britain and the US, and translated into a variety of languages, including German, French, Swedish and Czech.

Reviews for Canticle Creek

'The rural crime fiction wave continues with this brilliant new arid drama.' * Australian Women's Weekly * 'Hyland has mastered the architecture of noir - his sinister tale seethes with small-town atmosphere and satisfying twists, set against the dangers and harsh beauty of the Australian landscape.' * Sydney Morning Herald * 'an entertaining and engrossing novel. Hyland has written the ideal story for a long, hot summer, where fire always seems a possibility.' * The Canberra Times * 'You can almost feel the blanketing heat and crunch of dry foliage underfoot while reading Canticle Creek ... a well-paced, atmospheric thriller with unexpected twists' * The West Australian *


See Also