Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Brightfall
— —
Jaime Lee Moyer
Brightfall by Jaime Lee Moyer at Abbey's Bookshop,

Brightfall

Jaime Lee Moyer


9781787479210

Jo Fletcher Books


Fantasy;
Historical fiction


Paperback

400 pages

$32.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

'Immensely satisfying' Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon Someone is murdering the Merry Men . . .

It's been a mostly quiet life since Robin Hood put aside his pregnant wife Marian, turned his back on his Merry Men and his former life and retreated to a monastery to repent his sins . . . although no one knows what was so heinous he would leave behind Sherwood Forest and those he loved most.

But when friends from their outlaw days start dying, Father Tuck, now the Abbott of St Mary's, suspects a curse and begs Marian to use her magic to break it. A grieving Marian must bargain for protection for her children before she sets out with a soldier who's lost his faith, a trickster Fey lord, and a sullen Robin Hood, angry at being drawn back into the real world.

It's not long before Marian finds herself enmeshed in a maze of secrets and betrayals, tangled relationships and a vicious struggle for the Fey throne.

And if she can't find and stop the spell-caster, no protection in Sherwood Forest will be enough to save her children.

A wonderful re-imagining of Robin Hood and Maid Marian, perfect for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Christina Henry.

'Beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier' Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows

By:   Jaime Lee Moyer
Imprint:   Jo Fletcher Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   420g
ISBN:   9781787479210
ISBN 10:   1787479218
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   September 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jaime Lee Moyer lives in a dry land of cactus and cowboys, while dreaming of tall trees and the ocean. She writes novels about murder and betrayal, friendship, ghosts and magic, and she feels it's only fair to warn you that all her books are kissing books. She is the author of Delia's Shadow, A Barricade In Hell and Against A Brightening Sky, published by Tor Books, and the forthcoming Brightfall, from Jo Fletcher Books. She writes a lot. She reads as much as she can.


I adored this . . . Marian is a heroine I will treasure, and I feel like every time I read this, it will take me back to that wonderful feeling. It's unmissable. Five out of five cats, obviously. * A Cat, A Book, and A Cup of Tea * An immensely fun and entertaining read * Nicki J Markus * The plot is fast paced, it keeps you hooked and entertained till the last page . . . Highly recommended * Annarellix * Twists upon twists upon twists . . . Highly recommended * Reader's Retreat * A strong character study of a post-Sherwood Marian, with a good set of characters around her that richly fill her magical forest * Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together * Different and well written with interesting characters, magic and mystery * Storgy * I loved spending time in this world with these characters * Ruby Hosh * The tale of Robin Hood has been remixed many times, but Jaime Lee Moyer's take on the old outlaw is one of the most intriguing so far * Starburst * Brightfall is like a traditional ballad; sad and sweet, full of romance and longing and murder, with a dragon at its heart. I loved it. It will go on my keeper shelf * Patrice Sarath, Author of The Sisters Mederos and Fog Season * This is a solid, engaging story . . . I enjoyed it a lot * Liz Bourke, Tor.com * A genuinely new take on the Robin Hood tales . . . A treat for those who like their myths with extra magic * The Times * Putting a contemporary twist on a centuries old myth, Brightfall breathes new life into the tale of Robin Hood - bringing Marian to the fore and plunging her into a mystery that threatens the lives of all she loves * The Bookbag * Boldly envisioned and beautifully told, Brightfall will change the Robin and Marian mythos forever * Sebastien de Castell, author of the Greatcoats quartet * [A] brave retelling * Daily Mail * An immensely satisfying read with its unexpected and unique twist on the legend of Sherwood Forest, Robin and his men, and the brave, determined, resilient Marian * Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon * Brightfall is beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier. I loved it * Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.