Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague
— —
David K. Randall
Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague by David K. Randall at Abbey's Bookshop,

Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague

David K. Randall


9780393609455

Norton


History;
History of the Americas;
20th century history: c 1900 to c 2000;
Epidemiology & medical statistics


Hardback

304 pages

$41.95
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn't noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown. If the disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed ten million lives worldwide.

To local press, railroad barons, and elected officials, such a possibility was inconceivable- or inconvenient. As they proceeded to obscure the threat, it fell to federal health officer Rupert Blue to save the city, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.

In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, bestselling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue's race to understand the disease and contain its spread.

By:   David K. Randall
Imprint:   Norton
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 244mm,  Width: 163mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   540g
ISBN:   9780393609455
ISBN 10:   0393609456
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

David K. Randall is a senior reporter at Reuters. The New York Times best-selling author of Black Death at the Golden Gate, Dreamland, and The King and Queen of Malibu, he lives in Montclair, New Jersey.


David K. Randall has created a meticulously researched history that unfolds like a thriller. I raced through this book in two days (horribly, the span of time it took bubonic plague to fell a victim). The unlikely heroes-bacteriologists and public health officers with long, flowing beards-battle villains most vile: racism, rotten politics, disregard for science, and Yersinia pestis. Black Death at the Golden Gate is both a page-turner and a cautionary tale: Those villains still lurk. -- Mary Roach

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.