WIN $100 GIFT VOUCHER! TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Beekeeper's Lament

How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

Hannah Nordhaus

$27.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

Harper Collins
01 June 2011
You'llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again. -Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire,and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expose illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today,offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.
By:   Hannah Nordhaus
Imprint:   Harper Collins
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 16mm
Weight:   218g
ISBN:   9780061873256
ISBN 10:   006187325X
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   01 June 2011
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Hannah Nordhaus has received numerous awards for her articles about the American West, including both Associated Press and California Newspaper Publishing Association awards for feature writing and business reporting. Her stories have been published in the Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, Outside, High Country News, Bicycling, The Village Voice, Ski Magazine, Powder Magazine, Wilderness, SF Weekly, and other publications. She also pens a regular outdoors column for the Denver Rocky Mountain News.

Reviews for The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

I loved The Beekeeper's Lament. With great reporting and great writing, Hannah Nordhaus gives a new angle on an ever-evolving topic. You'll learn a lot. --Bernd Heinrich, author of Winter World and Mind of the Raven


See Also