Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Australia's Boldest Experiment

War and Reconstruction in the 1940s

Stuart Macintyre



In stock
Ready to ship


New South Books
01 June 2015
In this landmark book, Stuart Macintyre explains how a country traumatised by World War I, hammered by the Depression and overstretched by World War II became a prosperous, successful and growing society by the 1950s.

An extraordinary group of individuals, notably John Curtin, Ben Chifley, Nugget Coombs, John Dedman and Robert Menzies, re-made the country, planning its reconstruction against a background of wartime sacrifice and austerity. The other part of this triumphant story shows Australia on the world stage, seeking to fashion a new world order that would bring peace and prosperity.

This book shows the 1940s to be a pivotal decade in Australia. At the height of his powers, Macintyre reminds us that key components of the society we take for granted - work, welfare, health, education, immigration, housing - are not the result of military endeavour but policy, planning, politics and popular resolve.
By:   Stuart Macintyre
Imprint:   New South Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 46mm
Weight:   839g
ISBN:   9781742231129
ISBN 10:   1742231128
Pages:   592
Publication Date:   01 June 2015
Audience:   General/trade ,  College/higher education ,  ELT Advanced ,  Primary
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Stuart Forbes Macintyre AO is an Australian historian, academic and public intellectual and a former Ernest Scott Professor of History and Dean of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Melbourne, Australia. He has been voted one of AustraliaAEsmost influential public intellectuals. He is author of the bestselling Concise History of Australia , which has gone into a number of editions and is co-editor, with Alison Bashford, of the two-volume Cambridge History of Australia . His book The Reds , won The Age Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award in 1998 and The History Wars , co-written with Anna Clark, won the 2004 Premier of New South WalesAE Australian History Prize.

See Also