LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Alice ™

The biggest untold story in the history of money

Stuart Kells

Double Rewards
$35

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
MELBOURNE UNIVERSITY PRES
03 April 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

From Wall Street to the supreme court, how the world's largest banks control the money markets and crush competition

In the 1980s and 90s, amid an explosion in international money flows, a handful of people saw a new financial future and staked claims in it, triggering a battle to control the world's money markets. With phenomenal profits at stake, the conflict would go all the way to the United States Supreme Court, in a case that involved not just the largest Wall Street banks but also the tech behemoths of Silicon Valley.

The extraordinary story of Alice Corporation, a company created to reimagine financial markets, brings together an unlikely cast of characters- renowned author Kate Jennings, international banking insider Ian Shepherd, Enron CEO Jeffrey Skilling, German-born World War II historian Sigrid MacRae, J.P. Morgan deputy chair Roberto Mendoza - and his dog, Stanley.

In the tradition of Michael Lewis's Flash Boys and The Big Short, Alice is a story of ground-breaking insights, legal intrigue and improbable friendships. Pinpointing the likely causes of the next financial crisis, Alice reveals the fight to build a safer, fairer financial future.

By:  
Imprint:   MELBOURNE UNIVERSITY PRES
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 156mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   396g
ISBN:   9780522880274
ISBN 10:   0522880274
Pages:   272
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Stuart Kells is one of Australia's leading writers on the history of business and finance. Adjunct Professor at La Trobe Business School, he has twice won the Ashurst Business Literature Prize. His shorter works have been published around the world including in Smithsonian, The Paris Review, The Guardian and LitHub. His book The Library- A Catalogue of Wonders was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award and the NSW Premier's general history prize.

See Also