MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Acts of Desperation

Megan Nolan

$29.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

JONATHAN CAPE
02 March 2021
A bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature, for fans of Sally Rooney and Nora Ephron **THE TIMES BESTSELLER** *A NEW STATESMAN, OBSERVER, IRISH TIMES, i AND STYLIST BOOK OF 2021* 'Please believe the hype ... a seriously exciting writer' Sunday Times 'The millennial author everyone should be watching right now' Daily Telegraph 'Such brilliant writing about female desire, co-dependant love...

Incredibly honest and visceral' Marian Keyes Discover this bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature.

Love was the final consolation, would set ablaze the fields of my life in one go, leaving nothing behind. I thought of it as a force which would clean me and by its presence make me worthy of it. There was no religion in my life after early childhood, and a great faith in love was what I had cultivated instead. Oh, don't laugh at me for this, for being a woman who says this to you. I hear myself speak.

Even now, even after all that took place between us, I can still feel how moved I am by him. Ciaran was that downy, darkening blond of a baby just leaving its infancy. He was the most beautiful man I had ever seen. None of it mattered in the end; what he looked like, who he was, the things he would do to me. To make a beautiful man love and live with me had seemed - obviously, intuitively - the entire point of life. My need was greater than reality, stronger than the truth, more savage than either of us would eventually bear. How could it be true that a woman like me could need a man's love to feel like a person, to feel that I was worthy of life? And what would happen when I finally wore him down and took it?

'A dark, intense account of an obsessive love affair. It's great on the elation of falling in love and then its flip side, the anxiety, fixation and self-doubt. A really fine debut' David Nicholls
By:   Megan Nolan
Imprint:   JONATHAN CAPE
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 216mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 21mm
Weight:   286g
ISBN:   9781787333369
ISBN 10:   1787333361
Pages:   224
Publication Date:   02 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Megan Nolan lives in London and was born in 1990 in Waterford, Ireland. Her essays, fiction and reviews have been published in The New York Times, The White Review, The Sunday Times, The Village Voice, The Guardian and in the literary anthology, Winter Papers. She writes a fortnightly column for the New Statesman. This is her first novel.

Reviews for Acts of Desperation

Honest, brutal and intense, Megan Nolan's Acts Of Desperation is described as an anti-romance . -- Francesca Brown * Stylist *Best New Fiction for 2021* * A darkly rich and heady exploration of hunger and unraveling, Acts of Desperation is unashamed and honest. It questions the truest way to inhabit a body and shows us the horror and the beauty in learning to be alone. -- Jessica Andrews Oh my god! Such brilliant writing about female desire, co-dependant love, the ownership that's taken of female bodies and how it corrupts our relationship to them. I identified hugely. Incredibly honest and visceral. -- Marian Keyes This is an incredible debut by @mmegannolan. Poignant, poetic, raw and utterly unique - I couldn't stop reading. Pre-order it now. -- Pandora Sykes * Instagram *


See Also