MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Peculiar Peril

#1 Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead

Jeff Vandermeer

$32.99

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Farrar Straus Giroux
16 September 2020
After Jonathan Lambshead's elusive grandfather dies, the recently orphaned teenager inherits the family mansion-and its contents. Jonathan soon discovers that the mansion's basement holds more than just oddities: three doors serve as portals, with one leading to an alt-Earth called Aurora, where magic abounds, history has been re-written, and an occult dictator called Aleister Crowley leads an army pillaging alt-Europe. Jonathan learns of his destiny as a member of The Order, a secret society devoted to keeping our world separate from Aurora, and embarks on an epic quest to protect Earth from Crowley's dark magic.

Over the course of the duology, Jonathan uncovers more of the worlds outside of our own, the magic that permeates them, his own destiny, and the secrets buried in his family history.
By:   Jeff Vandermeer
Imprint:   Farrar Straus Giroux
Country of Publication:   United States
Volume:   1
Dimensions:   Height: 236mm,  Width: 164mm,  Spine: 51mm
Weight:   852g
ISBN:   9780374308865
ISBN 10:   0374308861
Series:   Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead 1
Pages:   656
Publication Date:   16 September 2020
Recommended Age:   From 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Jeff VanderMeer's New York Times-bestselling Southern Reach trilogy has been translated into over thirty-five languages. The first novel, Annihilation, won the Nebula Award and Shirley Jackson Award, was shortlisted for a half dozen more, and has been made into a movie. His novel Borne has received wide critical acclaim, including a rare trifecta of rave reviews from the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post, and has been optioned by Paramount. The New Yorker has called Jeff the weird Thoreau and he frequently speaks about issues related to climate change and storytelling. He lives in Tallahassee, Florida. jeffvandermeer.com

Reviews for A Peculiar Peril (#1 Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead)

A People Magazine Best Books to Read This Summer 2020 Taking the peculiar darkness of Ransom Riggs' Miss Peregrine series and the absurd humor and wit of Terry Pratchett, VanderMeer dreams up a wholly original tale, filled with complexity, imagination, and talking marmots. . . . A wild ride that requires a few leaps of faith from readers, but they're in good hands with VanderMeer, who has a sequel in the works for those who emerge victorious from Aurora. --Booklist, starred review A heck of a lot of fun. . . New readers young and old will find VanderMeer's foray into fresh territory a welcome port of entry to a wildly imaginative universe --The New York Times Book Review VanderMeer's sprawling YA debut offers a riotous, slyly sophisticated take on the hero's journey. Boldly drawn characters, sublimely ridiculous worldbuilding, and a witty, prismatic narrative further distinguish the unique tale. --Publishers Weekly A madcap marathon portal fantasy . . . An enthusiastic hodgepodge of antique fantasy elements . . . touches of cosmic horror, clever wordplay, genre deconstruction, and butt humor, all tied together with a just-go-with-it fever-dream logic. --Kirkus Reviews Even for an author known for creating some of the most memorable and important worlds in contemporary fiction, his newest journey into the alt-Earth known as Aurora is remarkable. . . A truly engrossing adventure. --The Chicago Review of Books A wicked read that features teen heroes, occult villains, talking animals, and alt-universes, all in VanderMeer's unique style. --Nerdist Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss. --Paste Magazine


See Also