MARCH'S BIG RELEASES TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Memory Called Empire

#1 Teixcalaan

Arkady Martine

$18.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Tor U.K.
28 January 2020
Series: Teixcalaan
WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020 In a war of lies she seeks the truth Ambassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.

Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.

As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.

An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE NEBULA AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020 SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD 2020 SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS 2019 PRAISE FOR A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE 'A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.' The New York Times Book Review '[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut.' Publishers Weekly, starred review 'Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters' The Los Angeles Times 'Interesting, detailed, lavish.' The Wall Street Journal 'Contender for debut of the year' SFX Magazine 'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice 'Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome' Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series
By:   Arkady Martine
Imprint:   Tor U.K.
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 131mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   340g
ISBN:   9781529001594
ISBN 10:   1529001595
Series:   Teixcalaan
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   28 January 2020
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and an apprentice city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.

Reviews for A Memory Called Empire (#1 Teixcalaan)

Gorgeously crafted . . . Martine allows the backstory to unroll slowly . . . walking delicately upon the tightrope of intrigue and partisan battles in the streets to safely bring the tale to a poignantly true conclusion. Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut -- <i>Publishers Weekly</i> starred review<b></b> Arkady Martine's first novel is a thrillingly smart space opera with grand scope. Everything's here: plots and counterplots, political manoeuvring, great writing, and brilliant ideas on language and empire. Like Iain M. Banks, she's created a universe that can spawn a hundred books. Hop on now, people -- Daryl Gregory Exquisite and smart as hell -- Fran Wilde A Memory Called Empire is both deeply thought-provoking and thoroughly entertaining . . . I can't wait to find out what happens next -- James Oswald A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next -- Martha Wells In A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating -- Charlie Jane Anders A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera -- Ken MacLeod An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov -- Elizabeth Bear An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn't put it down -- Jo Walton An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive -- Aliette de Bodard A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I've read in the last five years -- Yoon Ha Lee A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it -- Ann Leckie Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome -- Rick Riordan


See Also