SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Gambling Man

David Baldacci

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Macmillan
30 March 2021
Evoking the golden age of crime and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice It is nearly 1950 and Aloysius Archer is on his way to Bay Town, California to take up a post with renowned gumshoe, Willie Dash. Making an overnight stop in Reno he gets lucky at the casino, meets a talented actor named Liberty Callahan with her sights set on Hollywood, and helps out a man threatened by mobsters for a bad debt. With a magnificent Delahaye motor as his repayment, Archer goes west with Liberty to seek work, fame and fortune. The journey is dangerous and full of surprises as Liberty shows her steel and reveals she has a past as dark as Archer's.

A risk worth taking In Bay Town, Willie Dash is tasked with finding out who is doing everything in their power to prevent his client, politician Douglas Kemper, from being mayor. As Archer and Dash dig deeper, they discover a town full of secrets and strange events. When two seemingly unrelated murders occur at Midnight Moods, a local burlesque club owned by local scion, Sawyer Armstrong, Archer and Dash must dig deep to find a connection between the killings.

All bets are off To prove himself in his first case as a PI, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies, the good from the evil and the relevance of the mysterious happenings offshore he saw during a late night boat ride in the Pacific. While Liberty, in a final perilous showdown, shows that she's a true star in the making.
By:   David Baldacci
Imprint:   Macmillan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 233mm,  Width: 154mm,  Spine: 35mm
Weight:   552g
ISBN:   9781529061789
ISBN 10:   1529061784
Series:   Aloysius Archer series
Pages:   448
Publication Date:   30 March 2021
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

David Baldacci is one of the world's bestselling and favourite thriller writers. With over 150 million copies in print, his books, including Memory Man, Long Road to Mercy and One Good Deed, are published in over eighty territories and forty-five languages, and have been adapted for both feature-film and television.

Reviews for A Gambling Man

One of his finest books. Great character, great story, great portrait of an era -- Bill Clinton on <i>One Good Deed</i> One Good Deed represents David Baldacci's move into historical crime with a new character, ex- jailbird Aloysius Archer . . . Unsurprisingly, the talented Baldacci proves to be as adept in this new venture as he is in his contemporary-set novels * Financial Times *


See Also