Welcome to our new site MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World

C. A. Fletcher

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orbit Books
27 August 2019
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Science fiction; Fantasy; Thieves
THE MOST POWERFUL STORY YOU'LL READ THIS YEAR.

'You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading' Peng Shepherd, author of The Book Of M 'Fletcher's suspenseful, atmospheric tale imagines a near future in which our world is in ruins . . . an adventure saga punctured by a gut-punch twist' Entertainment Weekly 'Truly engrossing . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world' Keith Stuart, author of A Boy Made of Blocks 'I promise you're going to love it' Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches 'Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth' M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name's Griz.

I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.

I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters.

'This un-put-down-able story has everything - a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs' Kirkus (starred review) 'A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking' Fantasy Hive 'A stunningly gorgeous read: masterful storytelling, searingly beautiful prose, and a world so meticulously rendered you'll forget there's a real one going on beyond the pages. A book of the year contender - in any year' Micah Yongo 'Extraordinary and quite magnificent . . . 10/10' Starburst A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World is the most moving story you'll read this year. Perfect for readers of Life of Pi, The Girl with all the Gifts or Station Eleven - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's quest amid the remnants of our fragile civilisation.
By:   C. A. Fletcher
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   280g
ISBN:   9780356510934
ISBN 10:   035651093X
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   27 August 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

C. A. Fletcher has children and dogs. He lives in Scotland and writes for a living.

Reviews for A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World

Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking . . . I'm still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it That twist! That ending! You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading A truly engrossing survival story, which gives us a haunting vision of a ruined Britain that's both dangerous and strangely beautiful . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world Fletcher does a masterful job keeping the stakes high and the suspense crackling while still creating plenty of space for readers to get to know Griz and explore this fascinating not-quite-empty world. This un-put-down-able story has everything-a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs


See Also