Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World
— —
C. A. Fletcher
A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World by C. A. Fletcher at Abbey's Bookshop,

A Boy and his Dog at the End of the World

C. A. Fletcher


9780356510934

Orbit Books


Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Science fiction;
Fantasy


Paperback

384 pages

$22.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

Double Reward Points
More info

THE WORLD HAS ENDED. AT LEAST WE STILL HAVE DOGS.

My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like yours. I've never been to school, I've never had friends, in my whole life I've not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came. He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him - until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.

I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family's real story is. More about what really matters.

A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD is the most moving story you'll read this year.

Perfect for readers of LIFE OF LIE, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS or STATION ELEVEN - Griz's tale mixes sadness and hope in one unforgettable character's journey to retrieve a stolen dog, amid the ruins of our fragile world.

By:   C. A. Fletcher
Imprint:   Orbit Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 126mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   280g
ISBN:   9780356510934
ISBN 10:   035651093X
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   August 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

C. A. Fletcher has children and dogs. He lives in Scotland and writes for a living.


Epic in scope, enthralling, and full of human warmth A story that is as heart-warming as it is heart-breaking . . . I'm still thinking about this book, weeks after finishing it That twist! That ending! You'll remember A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World long after you finish reading A truly engrossing survival story, which gives us a haunting vision of a ruined Britain that's both dangerous and strangely beautiful . . . brings hope and humanity to a cold and scary world Fletcher does a masterful job keeping the stakes high and the suspense crackling while still creating plenty of space for readers to get to know Griz and explore this fascinating not-quite-empty world. This un-put-down-able story has everything-a well-imagined post-apocalyptic world, great characters, incredible suspense, and, of course, the fierce love of some very good dogs

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.