Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Language Book Centre - Everything for Teaching, Learning & Reading Languages

On the Blog - Where ideas Grow

GALAXY Bookshop - Science Fiction and Fantasy books and pop culture specialist

Follow Abbey’s on Facebook Follow Abbey’s on Instagram Follow Abbey’s on Twitter Follow Abbey’s Blog Follow Abbey’s on Pinterest Follow Abbey’s on YouTube Follow Abbey’s on Google Plus Recommend Abbey’s on Yelp

Celebrating Australian Women Writers

Posted March 15, 2012

Abbey's Bestsellers


A bold initiative is underway to recognise excellent writing by Australian women. The Australian Women Writers Challenge is a read and review group in which you, as an avid reader, can participate. 


Australian Women Writers and its 2012 Reading and Reviewing Challenge were created in response to a perceived gender bias toward male writers in awards and to participate in the 2012 National Year of Reading and also to raise awareness for a planned literary prize for Australian women writers, The Stella Prize.


If you're wanting to know of a few Australian women writers, we've put together a small selection for you below:




Monica Dux

The Great Feminist Denial

Jane Gleeson-White

Double Entry

Kerryn Goldsworthy


Ros Moriarty

Listening to Country (NYR Our Story Winner)




Anna Campbell

Midnight’s Wild Passion (ARRA Favourite Australian Romance Author 5 years running)

Lisa Heidke

Claudia’s Big Break

Cathryn Hein


Shona Husk

Goblin King

Rachael Johns

One Perfect Night

Karly Lane

North Star

Fiona Lowe

Boomerang Bride

Jenny Schwartz

Three Wishes

Helene Young

Shattered Sky




Miranda Darling

The Troika Dolls

Yvette Erskine

The Brotherhood

Jaye Ford

Scared Yet?

Sulari Gentill

Miles Off Course (Rowland Sinclair #3)

Kerry Greenwood

Cooking the Books

Angela Savage

The Half-Child

PM Newton

The Old School

Nicole Watson

The Boundary




Claire Corbett

When We Have Wings

Sophie Cunningham


Anna Funder

All That I Am (Indie Awards 2012 Book of the Year)

Eva Hornung

Dog Boy

Wendy James

The Mistake

Gail Jones

Fives Bells

Melanie Joosten

Berlin Syndrome

Emily Maguire

Smoke in the Room

Gillian Mears

Foal's Bread

Paddy O'Reilly

The Fine Colour of Rust

Favel Parrett

Past the Shallows

Jane Sullivan

Little People

Kirsten Tranter

A Common Loss

Charlotte Wood

Animal People

Alexis Wright





Jo Anderton


Tara Moss

The Spider Goddess

Meg Mundell

Black Glass

Sara Panck

Children of Scarabaeus

Tansy Rayner Roberts

The Shattered City

Kaaron Warren


Kim Westwood

The Courier's New Bicycle




Alexandra Adornetto

Halo and Hades

Cath Crowley

Graffiti Moon

Rhiannon Hart

Blood Song

Margo Lanagan

Sea Hearts (World Fantasy Award winner)

Marianne de Pierres

Burn Bright and Angel Arias

Jessica Shirvington

Embrace, Enticed and Emblaze

Alison Stewart

Days Like This


Abbey's Bestsellers

Your cart does not contain any items.