Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Language Book Centre - Everything for Teaching, Learning & Reading Languages

On the Blog - Where ideas Grow

GALAXY Bookshop - Science Fiction and Fantasy books and pop culture specialist

Follow Abbey’s on Facebook Follow Abbey’s on Instagram Follow Abbey’s on Twitter Follow Abbey’s Blog Follow Abbey’s on Pinterest Follow Abbey’s on YouTube Follow Abbey’s on Google Plus Recommend Abbey’s on Yelp

The Stella Prize Longlist 2013

Posted March 04, 2013

The Stella Prize is a new major literary award for Australian women's writing.

The Stella Prize is a new major literary award for Australian women's writing. Named after one of Australia's most important female authors, Stella Maria 'Miles' Franklin (1879-1954), the prize rewards one writer with a significant monetary prize of $50,000.

The prize aims to raise the profile of women's writing among readers and reviewers and also encourage a future generation of women writers. This year will be the first time the prize will be awarded and both fiction and non-fiction books are eligible.

The 2013 Stella Prize shortlist will be announced on Wednesday 20 March and the inaugural Stella Prize will be awarded in Melbourne on the evening of Tuesday 16 April.

More information about the prize can be found here: The Stella Prize


Romy Ash

Mazin Grace

Dylan Coleman

The Burial

Courtney Collins

The People Smuggler: The True Story of Ali Al Jenabi, the 'Oskar Schindler of Asia'

Robin de Crespigny

Questions of Travel

Michelle de Kretser

Sufficient Grace

Amy Espeseth

The Sunlit Zone

Lisa Jacobson

Like a House on Fire

Cate Kennedy

Sea Hearts

Margo Lanagan

The Mind of a Thief

Patti Miller

An Opening: Twelve Love Stories About Art

Stephanie Radok

Mateship with Birds

Carrie Tiffany

Your cart does not contain any items.