Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Science & Medicine


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Science & Medicine - You really must see Abbey's Great Wall of Science.

234,436 results

Death by Dim Sim: How I Beat Obesity

978/014/378/9780143782117.jpg

Death by Dim Sim: How I Beat Obesity

Sarah Vincent

Medicine; Diets & dieting

Paperback

Sarah Vincent once tipped the scales at 122 kilos. She worked at the back of a hospital making calls and answering emails,... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
100 Plants to Feed the Bees

978/161/212/9781612127019.jpg

100 Plants to Feed the Bees

Xerces Society

Conservation of wildlife & habitats; Gardening

Paperback

100 Plants to Save the Bees highlights the best species to attract and sustain honey bees, bumble bees, and other native bees... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Eureka!: The Birth of Science

978/178/578/9781785781919.jpg

Eureka!: The Birth of Science

Andrew Gregory

Western philosophy: Ancient, to c 500; Mathematics & Sciences; Philosophy of science; History of science

Paperback

An exploration of the eruption of scientific activity in the Ancient Greek world [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

978/178/607/9781786071224.jpg

What a Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins

Jonathan Balcombe

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Animal behaviour; Fishes (ichthyology); Advocate - Science

Paperback

We found Nemo and we're looking for Dory - now we need a radical rethink of the way we think about fish [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Farmageddon in Pictures: The True Cost of Cheap Meat

978/140/887/9781408873465.jpg

Farmageddon in Pictures: The True Cost of Cheap Meat

Philip Lymbery

Food & society; Food manufacturing & related industries; Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

<b>Farmageddon: the quiet revolution of mega-farming that is threatening our countryside, farms, and food.</b> [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The New Neotropical Companion

978/069/111/9780691115252.jpg

The New Neotropical Companion

John C. Kricher

Mathematics & Sciences; Ecological science, the Biosphere

Paperback

Revised edition of: A neotropical companion. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded. c1997. [more]

$69.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Gladiators, Pirates and Games of Trust: How Game Theory, Strategy and Probability Rule Our Lives

978/178/678/9781786780102.jpg

Gladiators, Pirates and Games of Trust: How Game Theory, Strategy and Probability...

Haim Shapira

Mathematics & Sciences; Game theory

Paperback

This book provides many humorous anecdotes and insightful examples of how our daily lives are affected by Game Theory. Game... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Aquatic Ape Hypothesis

978/028/564/9780285643611.jpg

The Aquatic Ape Hypothesis

Elaine Morgan

Mathematics & Sciences; Life sciences: general issues; Evolution

Paperback

The classic account of the theory that human evolution had an aquatic origin, did humans descend from a semi-aquatic environment?... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Turing Guide

978/019/874/9780198747833.jpg

The Turing Guide

Jack Copeland, Jonathan Bowen, Mark Sprevak, Robin Wilson

Mathematics & Sciences; Mathematics; History of mathematics; Impact of science & technology on society; Popular science

Paperback

This carefully edited resource brings together contributions from some of the world's leading experts on Alan Turing to create... [more]

$40.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Golden Ticket: P, NP, and the Search for the Impossible

978/069/117/9780691175782.jpg

The Golden Ticket: P, NP, and the Search for the Impossible

Lance Fortnow

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science

Paperback

The P-NP problem is the most important open problem in computer science, if not all of mathematics. Simply stated, it asks... [more]

$36.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Practical Latin for Gardeners: More Than 1500 Essential Plant Names and the Secrets They Contain

978/176/029/9781760295950.jpg

Practical Latin for Gardeners: More Than 1500 Essential Plant Names and...

James Armitage

Reference works; History; Horticulture; Gardening

Paperback

Practical Latin for Gardeners is a timely and useful guide to plant names based on the bestselling Latin for Gardeners. It... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss, and Long-Term Health

978/194/163/9781941631560.jpg

The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted...

T. Colin Campbell, Thomas M. Campbell

Medicine; Diets & dieting

Paperback

In this eclectic anthology of essays, former cast member Jewel Staite, Kaylee, philosopher Lyle Zynda, sex therapist Joy... [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Fragile Lives: A Heart Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating Table

978/000/820/9780008209360.jpg

Fragile Lives: A Heart Surgeon's Stories of Life and Death on the Operating...

Stephen Westaby

Biography; Memoirs; Cardiothoracic surgery

Paperback

An incredible memoir from one of the world's most eminent heart surgeons and some of the most remarkable and poignant cases... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Poison Principle: A Memoir About Family Secrets and Literary Poisonings

978/192/514/9781925143379.jpg

The Poison Principle: A Memoir About Family Secrets and Literary Poisonings...

Gail Bell

Biography; Memoirs; Crime & criminology; Medical toxicology; Advocate - Australian Biography

Paperback

Intricate, elegant, and beautifully realised, The Poison Principle is a masterful book about family secrets and literary poisonings.... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Natural Resources and Environmental Justice: Australian Perspectives

978/148/630/9781486306374.jpg

Natural Resources and Environmental Justice: Australian Perspectives

Anna Lukasiewicz, Stephen Dovers, Libby Robin, Jennifer Mckay, Steven Schilizzi

Mathematics & Sciences

Paperback

Provides the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary examination of justice research in Australian environmental management,... [more]

$89.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Sunburnt Childhood: Growing Up in the Territory

978/073/363/9780733637810.jpg

A Sunburnt Childhood: Growing Up in the Territory

Toni Tapp Coutts

Biography; Memoirs; Rural communities; Animal husbandry

Paperback

For fans of Sheryl McCorry's DIAMONDS AND DUST and Sara Henderson, this is the story of Toni Tapp Coutts's extraordinary childhood... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Food, Health and Happiness: 115 on Point Recipes for Great Meals and a Better Life

978/150/985/9781509850853.jpg

Food, Health and Happiness: 115 on Point Recipes for Great Meals and a Better...

Oprah Winfrey

Medicine; Fitness & diet; TV & celebrity chef cookbooks; Health & wholefood cookery

Paperback

Oprah Winfrey has spent her life trying to make peace with food, which has been such a source of pleasure and meaning for... [more]

$44.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Animal Behaviour

/978/019/871/9780198712152.jpg

Animal Behaviour

Tristram D. Wyatt

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Zoology & animal sciences; Animal behaviour

Paperback

Animal behaviour is a central topic of zoology, and with the development of ideas concerning the role of genes as well as... [more]

$15.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Story of Pain: From Prayer to Painkillers

978/019/968/9780199689439.jpg

The Story of Pain: From Prayer to Painkillers

Joanna Bourke

Social & cultural history; Society & Social Sciences; History of ideas; History of medicine; Pain & pain management; Popular science

Paperback

The story of pain and suffering since the eighteenth century. Prize-winning historian Joanna Bourke charts how our understanding... [more]

$22.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The New Scramble for Africa

978/150/950/9781509507085.jpg

The New Scramble for Africa

Padraig Carmody

Development studies; History; Development economics; Human geography

Paperback

Once marginalized in the world economy, Africa today is a major global supplier of crucial raw materials like oil, uranium... [more]

$39.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why

978/039/335/9780393353716.jpg

Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies, and Why

Laurence Gonzales

Mathematics & Sciences; Outdoor survival skills

Paperback

Now with a new introduction on how this book can help readers overcome any of life's obstacles, Deep Survival motivates and... [more]

$23.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Herding Hemingway's Cats: Understanding How Our Genes Work

978/147/291/9781472910073.jpg

Herding Hemingway's Cats: Understanding How Our Genes Work

Kat Arney

Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Genetics (non-medical)

Paperback

<b>How DNA is packed, unpacked, and read--a companion reader to the book of life itself.</b> [more]

$21.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Birds of Ecuador and Galapagos

978/147/293/9781472937902.jpg

Birds of Ecuador and Galapagos

Clive Byers

Mathematics & Sciences; Birds (ornithology); Wildlife: birds & birdwatching

Paperback

A neat series of truly portable guides designed for the nature-loving traveler. [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Birds of Thailand

978/147/293/9781472937926.jpg

Birds of Thailand

Michael Webster

Mathematics & Sciences; Birds (ornithology); Wildlife: birds & birdwatching

Paperback

<b>A neat series of truly portable guides designed for the nature-loving traveler.</b> [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mammals of South-East Asia

978/147/293/9781472937971.jpg

Mammals of South-East Asia

Charles Francis

Mathematics & Sciences; Birds (ornithology); Wildlife: birds & birdwatching

Paperback

<b>A neat series of truly portable guides designed for the nature-loving traveler.</b> [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your cart does not contain any items.