Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
New Releases

Historical Fiction

Emperor of Rome (#9 Vespasian)

Emperor of Rome (#9 Vespasian)

Robert Fabbri (Author)

$29.99
Double Reward Points
More info
Rome, AD 68. Vespasian is tasked with the impossible. Should he quell the revolt in Judaea, as Nero the emperor has instructed, or must he resort to the unthinkable and sabotage his own campaign? If his conquest succeeds, he risks becoming the sole object of the mad emperor's jealousy. If he fails, then his punishment will be severe. The fate of his men and his beloved son, Titus, all hang in the balance.

But unknown to Vespasian, Nero has committed suicide, catapulting Rome into political turmoil. Sabinus, Vespasian's brother, is caught between the warring factions of Aulus Vitellius, a cruel opportunist, and the noble Marcus Salvius Otho, who finds himself severely outnumbered. Seeing no aid on the horizon, Sabinus must rely on wit, and wit alone, to ensure the safety of his family.

With a contested throne and an army at his disposal, now may finally be Vespasian's time - to ascend, to conquer, to achieve what countless prophecies have foretold and take control of Rome itself. Will Vespasian, at long last, be the one to wear the purple?

See more in stock for HISTORICAL FICTION
Add this item to my basket
The Encircling Sea (#2 Vindolandia)

The Encircling Sea (#2 Vindolandia)

Adrian Goldsworthy

$19.99
AD 100: Flavius Ferox, Briton and Roman centurion, is finding it hard to keep the peace. The second instalment in the hugely authentic historical fiction series, set on the northern frontier of the Roman Empire, written by one of Britain's leading historians.

From bestselling historian Adrian Goldsworthy, a profoundly authentic, action-packed adventure set on the northern frontier of the Roman Empire.

AD 100: VINDOLANDA. A FORT ON THE EDGE OF THE ROMAN WORLD.

Flavius Ferox, Briton turned Roman centurion , is charged with keeping Rome's empire safe. But from his base at the northern frontier of Britannia, he feels enemies closing in from all sides . Ambitious leaders await the chance to carve out empires of their own. While men nearer at hand speak in whispers of war and the destruction of Rome. And now more sinister threats are reaching Ferox's ears. Stories about the sea-dwelling men of the night, who have cursed the land and only come ashore to feast on men's flesh. These are just rumours for now. But Ferox knows that rumours stem from truth. And that no one on this isle is safe from the great, encircling sea...

'An instant classic of the genre' HARRY SIDEBOTTOM. 'An authentic, enjoyable read' THE TIMES .
Add this item to my basket
The Familiars

The Familiars

Stacey Halls

$29.99
Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married, and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband Richard is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy.

Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife. Alice promises to help her give birth to a healthy baby, and to prove the physician wrong.

As Alice is drawn into the witchcraft accusations that are sweeping the North-West, Fleetwood risks everything by trying to help her. But is there more to Alice than meets the eye?

Soon the two women's lives will become inextricably bound together as the legendary trial at Lancaster approaches, and Fleetwood's stomach continues to grow. Time is running out, and both their lives are at stake.

Only they know the truth. Only they can save each other.
Add this item to my basket
Destroying Angel (#3 Damian Seeker)

Destroying Angel (#3 Damian Seeker)

S. G. MacLean

$19.99
Murder, treachery and a reckoning with his past await Captain Damian Seeker in Yorkshire in this gripping historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom and Rory Clements.

Captain Damian Seeker has gone north. Charged with preparing the way for the rule of the major-generals, he is now under the command of Colonel Robert Lilburne at York. But when Lilburne orders him to a small village on the North York moors with details of the stringent new anti-Royalist laws, Seeker finds that what should be a routine visit will reveal a plot to rival anything in scheming London

An invitation to dinner at the house of local businessman Matthew Pullan lifts the lid on the bubbling cauldron of grudges and resentment that is Faithly village. The local constable, drunk on the tiny bit of power he holds, using it to avenge old resentments. The hated lord of the manor, the last of a staunchly Royalist family who has managed to avoid suspicion of treachery - for now. The vicar on trial for his job and his home, accused of ungodly acts. And the Pullans themselves, proudly Puritan but disillusioned with Cromwell's government, respected and despised in Faithly in equal measure. The man for whom this unlikely gathering was organised - The Trier, the enforcer of Puritan morality for the local villages - hasn't shown up. And by the end of the night, on of those gathered around Matthew Pullan's table will be fatally poisoned.

Seeker must find out the motive behind the death - mushroom misidentification, petty revenge, or part of a larger plot against Cromwell's government in the north? But who in Faithly, if anyone, can he trust? And when the most painful part of his past reappears after eleven years, will the Seeker meet his match?
Add this item to my basket
The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman

Caroline Lea

$29.99
1686, Iceland. Betrothed unexpectedly to Jon Eriksson, Rosa travels to the isolated, windswept village of Stykkisholmur. Here, the villagers are suspicious of outsiders - especially one from the everdark edge of civilisation.

But Rosa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not talk of it. Instead he gives her a small glass figurine. She does not know what it signifies.

The villagers look on them both not only with suspicion - but dread. They whisper dark threats. There is an evil here - she can feel it. Alone and far from home, Rosa sees the darkness coming. She fears she will be its next victim . . .
Add this item to my basket
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock

Imogen Hermes Gowar

$19.99
'A cracking historical novel - with a twinge of the surreal - about passion and obsession' The Times

SHORLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018

One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock finds one of his captains waiting eagerly on his doorstep. He has sold Jonah's ship for what appears to be a mermaid.

As gossip spreads through the docks, coffee shops, parlours and brothels, everyone wants to see Mr Hancock's marvel. Its arrival spins him out of his ordinary existence and through the doors of high society, where he meets Angelica Neal, the most desirable woman he has ever laid eyes on... and a courtesan of great accomplishment. This meeting will steer both their lives onto a dangerous new course.

What will be the cost of their ambitions? And will they be able to escape the legendary destructive power a mermaid is said to possess?
Add this item to my basket
Court of Wolves (#2 New World Rising)

Court of Wolves (#2 New World Rising)

Robyn Young

$22.99
It is the dawn of a new world.

Henry Tudor has vanquished Richard III and claimed the throne of England, taking possession of a secret map. At the glittering court of the Medici in Florence, Lorenzo the Magnificent, ruler of the republic and head of the mysterious Academy, is engaged in a dangerous game of power with the Vatican. In Spain, the Catholic Monarchs, Isabella and Ferdinand, have declared a crusade against Islam, forcing the Moors from Granada. Europe stands upon the brink of war, at the edge of a discovery that will change everything.

Jack Wynter is clinging to the wreckage of the life he dreamed of living, his father's execution by Richard III destroying his hope of overcoming his status as an illegitimate son. The map entrusted to him by his father is gone, stolen by his hated half-brother, Harry Vaughan. Outlawed by Tudor, all Jack can do is follow his father's last words - and seek out the man who has answers to his past that will determine his future, Lorenzo de' Medici. But in the serpentine politics and renaissance splendour of Florence, he finds only danger. Lorenzo may have trusted Jack's father, but he is now surrounded by threats and conspiracies on all sides - not least from the rising power in the city known as the Court of Wolves.

Harry, meanwhile, heads to the Spanish court on a covert mission for Tudor, who intends to deflect Queen Isabella's interest in developing a trade route west with a sailor named Columbus.

Once again, Jack must risk all to prove himself, while his sworn enemy, Harry, finds himself fighting through Spain, seeking all the time to ingratiate himself with Tudor, and bring his brother down.
Add this item to my basket
The Falcons of Montabard

The Falcons of Montabard

Elizabeth Chadwick

$22.99
BRAND-NEW 'Director's Cut' edition of one of Elizabeth Chadwick's bestselling and best-loved novels.

'An author who makes history come gloriously alive' The Times 'Stunning' Barbara Erskine ************************************ The Port of Barfleur, 1120 Sabin FitzSimon, disgraced son of an earl, finally has the chance to salvage his reputation when renowned knight Edmund Strongfist asks Sabin to join a journey to Jerusalem.

The only thing Sabin must promise is to keep away from Strongfist's beautiful daughter, Annais. Sabin obeys, but his attraction to Annais's spirit, courage and her wonderful harp playing become increasingly difficult to resist.

As Sabin struggles to keep his heart in check, the Holy Land itself is in turmoil from constant warfare and the capture of its King. Simon must take command of the fortress of Montabard, and with it the recently widowed lady of the castle. . .

Praise for Elizabeth Chadwick 'Enjoyable and sensuous' Daily Mail 'Meticulous research and strong storytelling' Woman & Home 'A sumptuous ride' Daily Telegraph
Add this item to my basket
           
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.