Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Social Sciences & Law


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Social Sciences & Law

241,440 results

Lawless: A Lawyer's Unrelenting Fight for Justice in One of the World's Most Dangerous Places

978/176/063/9781760633035.jpg

Lawless: A Lawyer's Unrelenting Fight for Justice in One of the World's...

Kimberley Motley

Biography; Memoirs; Legal ethics & professional conduct; Criminal justice law; Advocate - Biography

Paperback

In the summer of 2008 Kimberley Motley quit her job as a criminal defence attorney in Milwaukee to join a program to help... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The House of Islam: A Global History

978/140/887/9781408872284.jpg

The House of Islam: A Global History

Ed Husain

Religion & beliefs; Islam; Politics & government; Advocate - Religion

Paperback

'A powerful corrective' Guardian 'This should be compulsory reading' Peter Frankopan, author of The Silk Roads `For... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
New Dark Age: Technology and the End of the Future

978/178/663/9781786635488.jpg

New Dark Age: Technology and the End of the Future

James Bridle

Politics & government; Technology: general issues; Advocate - Science

Paperback

How the Information Age destroys knowledge [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Secret Plot to Stop the Nazi Atomic Bomb

978/152/937/9781529374872.jpg

The Bastard Brigade: The True Story of the Secret Plot to Stop the Nazi...

Sam Kean

True stories: discovery, historical & scientific; True war & combat stories; History; Second World War; Fascism & Nazism; Nuclear weapons; Advocate - History

Paperback

New York Times bestselling author Sam Kean tells the incredible story of how a renegade group of spies kept Hitler from obtaining... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls

/978/034/901/9780349010533.jpg

Nobody's Victim: Fighting Psychos, Stalkers, Pervs and Trolls

Carrie Goldberg

Society & Social Sciences; Violence in society; Crime & criminology; Offences against the person

Paperback

Nobody's Victim is an unflinching look at a hidden world most people don't know exists - one of stalking, blackmail, and sexual... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The End of Time

978/147/360/9781473605411.jpg

The End of Time

Gavin Extence

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Refugees & political asylum; Migration, immigration & emigration; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

An unforgettable new novel from literary sensation Gavin Extence that brings to life the human condition, with insight, tenderness... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Beginner's Guide to the End: How to Live Life to the Full and Die a Good Death

978/178/648/9781786484819.jpg

A Beginner's Guide to the End: How to Live Life to the Full and Die a Good...

BJ Miller, Shoshana Berger

Sociology: death & dying; Psychology; Palliative medicine; Coping with death & bereavement; Advocate - Today's World

Paperback

A beautiful meditation on death as well as an actionable guide to all the logistics surrounding the end of a life - Being... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Beyond Reasonable Doubt (#1 Elliot Rook QC)

978/152/660/9781526606136.jpg

Beyond Reasonable Doubt (#1 Elliot Rook QC)

Gary Bell

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Criminal law & procedure; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Geopolitics: A Very Short Introduction

978/019/883/9780198830764.jpg

Geopolitics: A Very Short Introduction

Klaus Dodds

Politics & government; Geopolitics

Paperback

Encompassing everything from great power politics to everyday objects such as smart phones, geopolitics affects citizens,... [more]

$16.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Turning Point: The Battle for Milne Bay 1942 - Japan's first land defeat in World War II

978/073/364/9780733640551.jpg

Turning Point: The Battle for Milne Bay 1942 - Japan's first land defeat...

Michael Veitch

True war & combat stories; History; 20th century history: c 1900 to c 2000; Military history; Second World War; Air forces & warfare; Advocate - History

Paperback

Told for the first time, this is the epic story of the Milne Bay campaign of 1942 - which saw Japanese land forces suffer... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Man's Best Friend: The inspiring true story of Sergeant Luke Warburton, his police dog Chuck and the crime-busting Dog Unit

978/073/364/9780733641817.jpg

Man's Best Friend: The inspiring true story of Sergeant Luke Warburton,...

Luke Warburton, Simon Bouda

Biography; Memoirs; True stories of heroism, endurance & survival; Police & security services; Farm & working animals; Dogs as pets; Advocate - Australian Biography

Paperback

The inspiring true story of police officer Luke Warburton and his best friend, Chuck the police dog, and their dangerous operations... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Can You See Me?

978/140/719/9781407195674.jpg

Can You See Me?

Libby Scott, Rebecca Westcott

Teaching of students with emotional & behavioural difficulties; Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); School stories (Children's&YA)

Paperback

People think that because Tally's autistic, she doesn't realise what they're thinking, but Tally sees and hears - and notices... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dogs (#2 STAGS)

978/147/140/9781471407994.jpg

Dogs (#2 STAGS)

M A Bennett

Freemasonry & secret societies; Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Thrillers (Children's&YA)

Paperback

As the students begin to rehearse it, events become increasingly dark and strange, and they lead Greer back to where she never... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Politics of the Common Good: Dispossession in Australia

978/174/223/9781742236018.jpg

The Politics of the Common Good: Dispossession in Australia

Jane R. Goodall

History; Australasian & Pacific history; Politics & government; Advocate - History

Paperback

With insight, passion and an eye on history, Jane Goodall argues that as the ravages of neo-liberalism tear ever more deeply... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Dopeworld: Adventures in Drug Lands

978/152/937/9781529378023.jpg

Dopeworld: Adventures in Drug Lands

Niko Vorobyov

Biography; True crime; Society & culture: general; Drugs trade & trafficking; Organised crime

Paperback

A definitive and global exploration into the war on drugs and the effect it's having on humanity. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Friend Anna: The true story of the fake heiress of New York City

978/178/747/9781787478299.jpg

My Friend Anna: The true story of the fake heiress of New York City

Rachel DeLoache Williams

Biography; True crime; Hoaxes & deceptions

Paperback

How does it feel to be betrayed by your closest friend? A close friend who turns out to be the most prolific grifter in New... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Travels in Atomic Sunshine: Australia and the Occupation of Japan

978/192/584/9781925849370.jpg

Travels in Atomic Sunshine: Australia and the Occupation of Japan

Robin Gerster

History; Asian history; Postwar 20th century history, from c 1945 to c 2000; Social & cultural history; Peacekeeping operations

Paperback

In February 1946, the Australians of the British Commonwealth Occupation Force moved into western Japan to 'demilitarise and... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How History Gets Things Wrong: The Neuroscience of Our Addiction to Stories

/978/026/253/9780262537995.jpg

How History Gets Things Wrong: The Neuroscience of Our Addiction to Stories...

Alex Rosenberg

History; History: theory & methods; Psychology; Neurosciences

Paperback

Why we learn the wrong things from narrative history, and how our love for stories is hard-wired. [more]

$43.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The United States, the Soviet Union and the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1948-67: Superpower Rivalry

978/152/612/9781526127358.jpg

The United States, the Soviet Union and the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 1948-67:...

Joseph Heller

History; The Cold War; Jewish studies; International relations

Paperback

This book presents a comprehensive history of the modern Middle East and Arab-Israeli conflict through the Cold War, focusing... [more]

$53.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Age of Populism: The Tyranny of Authenticity and the Rise of Populism

978/178/821/9781788210256.jpg

The Age of Populism: The Tyranny of Authenticity and the Rise of Populism...

Catherine Fieschi

Politics & government; Political economy

Paperback

Catherine Fieschi examines why populism and populist parties have become a feature of our politics. Populism's appeal, she... [more]

$36.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Australian Army at War 1976-2016

978/147/282/9781472826329.jpg

The Australian Army at War 1976-2016

Leigh Neville

History; Australasian & Pacific history; Military history; Uniforms & insignia

Paperback

Since the end of their involvement in the Vietnam War, the Australian Army has been modernized in every respect. After peacekeeping... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Pogrom: Kishinev and the Tilt of History

978/163/149/9781631495991.jpg

Pogrom: Kishinev and the Tilt of History

Steven J. Zipperstein

History; European history; Social & cultural history; Jewish studies

Paperback

Separating historical fact from fantasy, the story of Kishinev, a riot that transformed the course of twentieth-century Jewish... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
All Things Consoled

978/085/705/9780857059123.jpg

All Things Consoled

Elizabeth Hay

Biography; Autobiography: literary; Memoirs; Psychology of ageing; Coping with old age

Paperback

A poignant, complex and hugely resonant memoir about the shift from being a daughter to a guardian and caregiver, by Giller... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
What You Pay For

978/147/367/9781473673083.jpg

What You Pay For

Claire Askew

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Organised crime

Paperback

Dedicated cop Helen Birch faces a terrible choice - family or justice? - in the gripping second novel from the author of All... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
False Flags: Disguised German Raiders of World War II

978/192/533/9781925335804.jpg

False Flags: Disguised German Raiders of World War II

Stephen Robinson

History; European history; Maritime history; Second World War; Naval forces & warfare

Paperback

False Flags tells the epic story of German raider voyages during the early years of World War II. In 1940 the raiders Orion,... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.